Handbrake Problem

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Numbers, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. Numbers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    Hello,

    I have recently begun trying to digitize my DVD collection onto my hard drive. I am using handbrake, but am encountering a problem. The encoding goes over fine, but when I try to play is back in QuickTime, the video stutters and this appears:

    http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/2802/handbrakeproblemdy4.jpg

    I have tried this in other video players, and the same thing happens.

    Here are my settings:

    Format: MP4
    Codec: H.264
    Bitrate: 2500
    2-Pass Encoding
    Reference Frames: 16
    Mixed Reference
    B-Frames
    Direction Prediction: Default (Spatial)
    Weighted B-Frames
    Motion Estimation Method: Default (Hexagon)
    Motion Estimation Range: 64
    Subpixel Motion Estimation: 9
    Deblocking: -2
    No Fast-P-Skip
    CABAC Entropy Coding

    Help is much appreciated!
     
  2. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #2
    Are you using the Handbrake presets?

    Does this happen to all DVDs or just a specific one?
     
  3. Numbers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    No, this is a custom setting. However, I am trying it again with the QuickTime MP4 preset. I will tell you the result when it finishes.

    Yes, this has happened for every DVD I have tried with HandBrake.
     
  4. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #4
    Let us know how it works out, but I highly suggest using a preset. Especially if you are going to watch these movies on an AppleTV or iPod/iPhone.
     
  5. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #5
    I agree with slu. The problem is that Quicktime doesn't support every aspect of the MPEG-4 H.264 spec. Specifically, a lot of the advanced B-frame stuff. If my memory serves, Quicktime only supports a single B-frame per group of pictures (basically bare minimum B-frame support).
     
  6. AliensAreFuzzy macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    I have actually had this happen if the DVD in question isn't properly decrypted. Try using Mac the Ripper to rip the DVD to a directory and use Handbrake on the directory. Alternatively, try downloading the latest version of VLC to get the proper decryption files.
     
  7. wingmanmac macrumors member

    wingmanmac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    norway
    #7
    may i ask here...

    does anyone know what is the right output settings in handbrake for watching a movie on playstation 3?

    ok im too fast, i see how to do it now. - toggle presets
     
  8. Numbers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    I tried playing the MP4 with the QuickTime preset, but that didn't work.

    I'll try again with M4V and the QuickTime preset, as that is the default with the setting. Besides, I looked around on other forums, and it appears that QuickTime/iTunes/Apple prefers M4V over MP4.
     
  9. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #9
    Try playing it in VLC and see if you get the same problem.
     
  10. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #10
    I think you should try a different preset.

    Open Handbrake and click the Toggle Presets button in the top right of the window.

    If you don't have any presets, then go to Menu and select Presets > Update Built-in Presets.

    I use Apple > Legacy > iPod Legacy

    Attached is a screen shot of my setup. I have no problem using this setting in iTunes, etc.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page