HandBrake Problems???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by liamgodfrey, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. liamgodfrey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #1
    Hello.
    I have a problem with an application called HandBrake.
    Each DVD I have tried to rip using HandBrake has turned out the same (except for one). I am enclosing a picture to show the problem, obviously before I go through the painstaking process of ripping the DVD.
    If anyone could help me I would be very kind.
    Thanks,
    Liam. :D
    [​IMG]

    (The problem is the fact that the rip always comes through as glitched, as shown in the preview.)
     
  2. pitabox987 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Location:
    Armidale, NSW
    #2
    I have an older version of handbrake and have seen this as well. — It's the copy protection on the DVD interfering with the rip.

    What I've found that works is.

    1. Find a ripper that copies the entire VIDEO_TS folder to the desktop, I use an old one called Mac the Ripper.

    2. Once ripped with this software, then use handbrake to rip the VIDEO_TS folder to a video file. — this should remove the encoded copy protection on the disk allowing it to be cleanly ripped.

    I use it for when I want to put a movie on my iPad when I'm travelling, it does the job well. :D
     
  3. liamgodfrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for your reply!
    I tried it out but have run into this problem.
    Any solutions?
    Liam.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. mpantone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #4
    Use a newer version of Mac The Ripper.

    Version 3.0 build 14 works fine on my Mac mini (Mid 2010) running Mavericks OS X 10.9.1. Up to you to find a copy of this, we can't help you there.

    Good luck.
     
  5. pitabox987 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Location:
    Armidale, NSW
    #5
    Yes you will need a newer version of Mac The Ripper, but it should do what you want, if not post another reply on this thread and I'll see what I can find.

    ----------

    Try this

    http://www.simplehelp.net/2008/04/09/preview-mactheripper-v30-r14/
     
  6. liamgodfrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #6
    Thank you for the link.
    However, for some reason downloading from that site gives me this (see below).

    [​IMG]
     
  7. dmrowley macrumors 6502

    dmrowley

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Dortches, NC
    #7
  8. liamgodfrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #8
    I followed the link and downloaded MacX DVD Ripper Pro and so far it is working splendidly. Thank you very much!
    Liam
     
  9. pitabox987 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Location:
    Armidale, NSW
    #9
    The answer to this is simple ;)

    You were trying to open a StuffIt archive with a text editor, hence the garbled text.

    ----------

    Just a personal not, I always exercise caution with "free giveaway" software, scan it for malware and viruses ;)

    Good to know you found it though. :)

    In retrospect since It's the "Pro" version of the software I might take a look at that link, cheers Liam. :D
     
  10. liamgodfrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #10
    Thank you! I'll remember this for future reference! :D

    And it seems pretty good so far, fast as well!
     

Share This Page