Handbrake Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by paul.b.davis, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. paul.b.davis macrumors 6502

    paul.b.davis

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Over the hills and far away...
    #1
    Ok, so all day I have been trying to rip a DVD, but handbrake will just stop randomly at a point in the movie and bring up the popup telling me it is done ripping, but in reality it is not even halfway through

    anyone else have this problem? how can I fix it?
    Thanks
     
  2. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #2
    depending on the movie yes-some recent movies(ratatouille for example) will not allow for a complete rip-if you go to the handbrake forums, you will see that they have a running list of several movies that won't rip with handbrake-one fix that might work is to skip the first chapter of the movie or you could try to rip it using mac the ripper then rip the Video_TS folder with handbrake

    here is a link to the list of those movies that won't rip http://handbrake.fr/forum/viewtopic.php?t=266
     
  3. doug.hall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I get the same problem with Casino Royal.

    Also my macbook crashes if I use Handbrake and then insert a new DVD. It crashes even if I close Handbrake before I insert the new dvd. But only dies this if Handbrake has been open. Does anyone know what could be going wrong?:confused:
     
  4. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #4
    i think the problem is ( this is my opinion based upon only experience) that these newer DVDs have some kind of encryption that makes it difficult to copy the discs to a computer so that the movie can't be shared with the whole wide world
     
  5. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #5
    Yeah, sucks if you want to put it on your iPod.
     
  6. paul.b.davis thread starter macrumors 6502

    paul.b.davis

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Over the hills and far away...
    #6
    well it was transformers and that is not on the list... i used mac the ripper and then used that for handbrake and it worked perfectly

    thanks
     
  7. porg1969 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #7
    To make it easier (although it's more time consuming), I rip my DVD from Mactheripper to a ts_video file then use handbrake. There have been quite a few movies where I used handbrake and either the movie stopped, the sound was missing or it just wouldn't convert. But using mactheripper and then handbrake, I've never had any problems with ripping DVDs. I just converted 350 DVDs this way and they all work great.
     
  8. myjay610 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #8
    Agreed with using MTR first. Newer version of hb is nice because you can rip a bunch of dvds then just load the VIDEO_TS folders into the queue before bed or before work.
     
  9. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Casino Royal works for me.

    You have to use MTR first, which I recommend for every movie anyway.
     

Share This Page