Handbrake question?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by pb1300, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. pb1300 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Aigio, Greece
    #1
    If I have a downloaded copy of a movie, roughly 700mb, can I use Handbrake to upscale the quality at all? The movie plays fine on my iMac, but when I play it on my LCD tv, the quality is nowhere near the same. I ended up getting a WD TV from my job here for $40, and i use it as a media center on my tv. The movies that I ripped from my dvd collection to my HD via HB are fine, but these dloaded ones are not as good. Thoughts?
     
  2. jim.lynch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #2
    Nothing will improve the quality if the information isn't there in the first place.

    You may be able to re-encode with a different resolution but it will probably look worse. You need to find a better quality source file.
     
  3. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #3
    That's what's going to happen with downloaded moves. They're programmed to be 700 mb so people can burn them to a CD, when the average movie ripped via handbrake with no restrictions is usually over twice that. Don't expect good quality from downloaded movies, and no - you can't upscale it and make it look better. It doesn't work like that unfortunately.
     
  4. pb1300 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Aigio, Greece
    #4
    I didnt think so, but there is no wrong in asking. I have about 160 movies that are about 700mb, so I have to deal with it. I just started ripping my DVDs (finished #9 of 300), so I have a lot of work ahead of me :(
     
  5. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #5
    Trust me, I do understand. And I also went through my collection of DVDs, similar in size actually, and ripped, encoded, and tagged all of them. 3 times. Once, then the hard drive died and I did it a second time, then I decided to go back and redo it all at higher quality and with chapter markers, which previously hadn't been retained when tagging.

    I feel your pain. Believe me. :cool:
     
  6. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    um, I have never seen a dvd that is only 700 mb. and yes, hb cannot make something of nothing.
     
  7. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #7
    I was referring to the number of DVDs he said he had, not the size of the files. I already specified that DVDs don't rip at 700 MB.
     
  8. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #8
    Fair enough, my fault. Carry on ;)
     

Share This Page