Handbrake ripping on OSX and Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mrochester, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. mrochester macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi all

    Just a quicky... why is it that Handbrake can rip directly from a DVD in OSX but not in Windows?

    Thanks!

    Michael.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Because Handbrake does not include the DVD decryption, in OS X it relies on VLC for decryption.
     
  3. CarlisleUnited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    Nederland
    #3
    Use dvd43 to get rid of the encryption in windows and you can rip in windows
     
  4. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #4
    I understand that, but even with VLC installed in Windows, Handbrake can't rip directly from the DVD.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Because it doesn't work that way in Windows, only in OS X.
     
  6. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #6
    Hehe, I gathered, I was just wondering why :D
     

Share This Page