Handbrake setting for optional 'Closed Captions' for use with ATV2?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by marcel-v, May 18, 2011.

  1. marcel-v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #1
    Hi there. Just wondering which option to choose for closed captions in handbrake:

    a) forced only?
    b) burned in?
    c) default?

    How can I test this with ATV2?

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #2
    Just select the closed captions track from the dropdown on the subtitles menu. This is the only track that can be used to automatically create soft subtitles for AppleTV playback within Handbrake (the data is stored in text format, no OCR is needed).
     
  3. miket019 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    California
  4. marcel-v thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #4
    Burned In, excllent. And how can I toggle this using the Apple Remote (with ATV2)?
     
  5. miket019 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    "Burn In" means the subtitles will be burn to the video. It will be on by default.

    On the downside, you won't be able to remove it either.
     
  6. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #6
    if you want to turn the subs on and off, used "forced only".

    then, while the movie plays, hold the "selelct" button on the remote until a menu appears. from there you can select the subtitle language (if more than one is available) or turn it off.
     
  7. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #7
    That will only burn in subtitles that have been marked "forced"... i.e. subtitles during foreign language parts. If you want to be able to turn them on/off, you need to either import an external SRT or select the closed caption track (if one is available).
     
  8. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #8
    sorry, not in my experience. i'm using this setting and it works just like i said (at least for me), for both external .srt's or subs embedded in the container.
     
  9. miket019 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #9
    From personal experience, the "force only" option would not work. Try clicking on select with remote when movie is playing, all you get is "chapter" selection.
     
  10. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #10
    you need to press and hold "select" for a couple of seconds to get to the menu.

    if you have both chapters and subtitles embedded in the file, the menu will display the chapter titles but on top of the menu (very small) are two tabs that can be selected using "forward" or "rewind" that toggle between the chapters and the subtitle menus.
     
  11. miket019 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Actually I stand corrected.

    How do you rip the subtitle out of the dvd and into an .srt file?

    I tried downloading but not happy with the result.
     
  12. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #12
    i'm not ripping commercial DVD's - that would be illegal.

    instead, i download ripped movies from the net :p

    so i can't really help but i expect there would be a setting in your ripping software. look for it.

    i have actually made rather good experiences with .srt's downloaded from e.g. http://www.opensubtitles.org/en, although sometimes you need to download a few files until you find one that is a perfect match.

    FWIW, i'm using iSubtitle to add subs to already converted files.

    good luck !
     
  13. miket019 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Thanks Jolly.


    I found a way, I just select the "Closed Captions" txt instead of "Subtitles".

    90% of my movies have a "closed captions" txt under "subtitles". The closed captions txt can be turn on/off from the apple remote. Works like a charm.
     

Share This Page