Handbrake setting to match Apple's HD movies?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JerryV, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. JerryV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    NL
    #1
    Does anyone know the settings for handbrake to match the quality of Apple's HD movies?
    (My handbrake rips of my dvd's do not really compare to the quality of HD movies that can be rented in the Itunes store...)

    Thanks
     
  2. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    DVD's are not HD so you cannot rip it to HD, appleTV does upscale when it is playing back though, you can only transcode an HD film from an HD source, such as Bluray, but not with handbrake at the mo.
     
  3. JerryV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    NL
    #3
    Ok, that's pretty logical.. :eek:
    Altough I assume something is off with my handbrake settings since the quality of the dvd itself is better than the 'rip'...
     
  4. kiranmk2 macrumors 6502a

    kiranmk2

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #4
    Does AppleTV upscale SD movies? I can't find any information on that. And if it does, does it scale them to 720p or 1080p?
     
  5. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #5
    The new Dev Screen Shot can but if you have AAC 6Ch input (Some MKV's) the sound does not work as they do not support it at this time:(
     
  6. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #6
    The quality of the DVD will ALWAYS be better than the resulting encoded file.
     
  7. HunterMaximus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #7
    What nighstorm said.

    What Handbrake does when it rips it is compress the video, which is a lossy process, thus it's impossible to get perfect DVD quality. You can however get it to the point where it's virtually indistinguishable from the DVD for far less space. Finding the right settings for that however is a tricky process of mostly trial and error. I suggest checking out the Handbrake forums, or the ones at doom9 (google it).
     
  8. snowmaan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #8
    I have also been trying to rip and encode my DVDs using handbrake on a PC, while I await my iMac this week to arrive

    But it is taking about 9 hours to do, and so far either hasnt worked or the quality is terrible

    I set the movie on 2800 bitrate, encoder h264, aac+ac3 audio, deinterlace set to slow, 2 pass encoding plus turbo first pass, audio bitrate 192, sample rate 48, on Apple TV preset

    No very impressed so far...

    Would be great to have a lot of my DVDs dione before my iMac 24" and Apple TV arrives but cant see it happening at this rate :(
     
  9. JerryV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    NL
    #9
    Ok thanks for the info guys.. I guess I'll try out different settings during the next weeks..
     
  10. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    The best thing to do when testing different settings is to just encode a small piece of the movie rather than the whole thing.
     
  11. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #11
    Of course they can't. Do you really think that apple is ripping SD dvd's for their "HD" rentals ? Of course not. They are likely using raw video footage right from the studio.
    HB will not make something out of nothing.
     
  12. AeroStud1026 macrumors member

    AeroStud1026

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Location:
    Galloway, NJ
    #12
    Well since were talking about Handbreak settings, is the AppleTV setting in HB worth it? I usually do Normal, and my files are usually slightly over 1GB, I just tried the AppleTV setting and it bumped the file size to 2.25GBs and its not the length of the movie. I'm gonna test it out however I'd like to hear other people's opinions. Thanks

    Matt
     
  13. mallbritton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #13
    When I've used it the Apple TV pre-set has produced good results. But it does depend on what size your TV is, I think. For larger than 42" sets I think you might want to bump up the bit rate. On my 32" set I can get away with an average of 1800 Kbps and the picture looks fine.

    Regards,
    Michael
     

Share This Page