Handbrake: Sound pops/blanks after conversion (likely DTS problem?)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by VideoBeagle, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. VideoBeagle, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2014

    VideoBeagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #1
    I'm trying to track down a sound problem.

    I'm finding in some recent Handbrake rips, some ...pops? hard to describe..every couple of moments there's a drop or a blank or a glitch (best I can think of) in the audio.

    (described as blanks by 2 friends I sent the below sample to)

    I found this checking the encodes on Beamer -> Apple TV -> Sony Receiver -> TV. I checked the file with VLC on the iMac, and they're there, so it's none of the set up beyond the file. I checked the original file I converted with Handbrake, so it's somewhere between Handbrake's conversion and the mac playback.

    I'm using the Apple TV 3 preset.

    I've seen it in several different files.
    At least the sample file below has been played on 2 different macs and a Windows 7 desktop.

    *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
    There's 2 pops in this audio clip. It's the 20th Century Fox fanfare, so you should hear them easily at about the 9-10 second mark and the 16-17 second mark.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/d2tyktbd0ohfgv8/sound.m4a
    or
    https://dl.dropbox.com/s/d2tyktbd0ohfgv8/sound.m4a?dl=0

    (I used Quicktime to trim the big file, then exported to audio only to make the clip)
    *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
    these are the settings...
    [​IMG]

    (Subler used for the top 2 pictures)

    *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

    Can anyone suggest what's going on? This seems to be a new issue I'm running into.

    (Handbrake Version 0.9.9 x86_64 (2013051800))
     
  2. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #2
    Ok, this file done in the same batch as the sampled one above doesn't seem to have the pop/blank problem..
    [​IMG]

    The clear difference being the sound track of the original files, which despite playing with no issues in VLC, are converted differently by Handbrake.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #3
    I've tried the beta and nightly builds and different pre-sets with no luck.
     
  4. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #4
    Well no answers forthcoming at the handbrake forum..or here it looks like. :(
     

Share This Page