Handbrake - Speed question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whistler222, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. whistler222 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #1
    I encoded a DVD last night using my new mac pro.. 8 gb RAM.

    how are you guys checking the speed etc?

    Using the same encoding settings as my little macbook (same end resolution, subtitles, etc, etc).. i didn't notice it encoded anyfaster.
    it took me 40 minutes to encode a 2 pass, 2 hour long movie.. which is how long my macbook took

    am i setting something wrong?
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Well, you're probably being limited by the rate at which data can be streamed off the DVD. If you ripped the DVD to a decrypted VIDEO_TS folder using something like MacTheRipper and THEN compared, I'm sure you'd see the Mac Pro leading significantly.
     
  3. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #3
    your macbook does two passes on a 2 hour movie in 40 minutes?

    my first-gen mac pro doesn't do that...what output settings are you doing?
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    40 minutes... Damn. It takes me between 16 and 20 hours just to rip a DVD for use on my iPhone. Then again my comptuer is 6 years old.

    TEG
     
  5. whistler222 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #5
    iphone setting
    760x480ish..
    ? what other settings?
     
  6. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #6
    Why not? mines around that time 40 mins, don't use handbrake much though, once every 2 months maybe :)
     

Share This Page