HandBrake stopped recognising sourses

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dubhe, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #1
    Have been ripping DVDs to my hard drive to then import to iTunes and my iPod for some time. Used to be on my Leopard Mac Mini. Have bought a new MacBook and used Migration Assistant to transfer everything across. For some reason HandBrake now doesn't recognise DVDs as a source... Any ideas? Have tried re-installing HandBrake but still states 'no valid source found' even though I am pointing it at the DVD in the Superdrive.
     
  2. millap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I think you need to play a DVD using DVD Player at least once, to set up the Region Code. Once it is set, you should be ok.
     
  3. dubhe thread starter macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #3
    Thanks, that sorted it! Don't watch DVDs directly much these days!
     
  4. timmizzy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    Handbrake no valid source found

    I'm having the same problem now. I've been using handbrake for the past 6 years, and now it will no longer recognized DVD's. I use it to convert movies for my IPOD. I've deleted the programs(handbrake,VLC), and redownloaded them, and then reinstalled them, and it still won't work. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  5. boardrunnr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    #5
    Fixed!

    Totally worked - thanks!!
     

Share This Page