Handbrake taking over 12 hours?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by G5Unit, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #1
    I have a Single 1.8Ghz PowerMac G5 and it is taking over 12 hours to convert a 1 hour and 40 minute DVD to iPhone quality. Last time i did this, about to months ago, it would only take about 2 hours.

    What's wrong?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    There could be something wrong with the DVD. Check to see if it's scratched or smudged.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    You might also do a comparison check by copying the entire DVD contents onto the HD and then Handbraking it from the HD.
     
  5. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #5
    The DVD drive is barely making any noise, as if it's spinning very slow. It's as if it's not even trying/:

    And it's the newest version of handbrake.
     
  6. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #6
    No solution? It actually now takes about 30 hours per encode. This is crazy.

    It's going at 3 fps!
     
  7. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #7
    Check Activity Monitor out. Is handbrake using up 100% of your spare CPU cycles? If so, then there is something very wrong. Perhaps there is a stray app taking up all your cycles?
     
  8. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #8
    It's using 80 percent.
     
  9. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #9
    Are you sure you're using the same rip settings as you did when it took 2 hours? The settings you choose can have a massive impact on the amount of time a rip takes.
     
  10. GlynJones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #10
    Are you using Deinterlacing at the slowest settings. This takes hours even on an Intel Mac.
     
  11. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #11
    Nope no deinterlacing.

    Just the plain iPhone settings.
     
  12. jonnylink macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #12
    why not try putting the dvd on your computer first and then using handbrake?
     
  13. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #13
    It takes about 1 hour to get onto the computer from the DVD.
     
  14. mikeyredk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #14
    An hour? what are you using to transfer it with?

    Recommend using OSEx to transfer it on to your computer takes me 20 minutes tops
     
  15. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #15
    I'm starting to think something is wrong with my drive? It's so quite, as if it's not spinning very hard,
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    Explain this.
     
  17. jonnylink macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #17
    It can take some time with mac the ripper depending on the copy-protection added to the dvd. some only take about thirty minutes others take waaaay longer.
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    13 minutes for a single layer on a FireWire 16x Drive.
     
  19. Scott982 macrumors member

    Scott982

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    #19
    I use mac the ripper first and then handbrake. On my macbook book it takes about 2 hours on the apple tv setting.
     
  20. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #20
    try it with another couple of disks before you jump to conclusions.
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    definately dvd problem. couldnt be anything else.
     
  22. jonnylink macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #22
    Some DVD's insert a ton of bad sectors to try and stop people from ripping the DVD and it really screws with things. If the DVD is scratched that could do the same thing. It's just like when you try to rip a scratch CD with error correction. It can take a long time and it is much much smaller than a DVD.

    Try two more DVD's maybe a really old DVD and a really new DVD. If those both take a really long time to rip then you've got enough of a pattern to suggest it is the drive. Otherwise it is just a couple of nasty DVD's.
     

Share This Page