Handbrake trouble with Uni MBP

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by K3mp, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. K3mp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #1
    Every time I load up a dvd in handbrake on my new MBP, it looks like
    the pics I showed. I have tried many different DVD's and both of my graphics cards as well as deleting HB and all of it's preferences. The movies play fine in DVD player with no problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #2
    Also I tried to rip one time before I set the drive region if that makes a difference. I have it set to 1 now.
     
  3. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
  4. pakyooh macrumors 6502

    pakyooh

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #4
    bit new to mac but I ran into that the first time I used handbrake. did you download VLC?
     
  5. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    Which graphic card? 9400 (better battery life) or 9600 (better performance)?

    Which Handbrake version? The most recent?
     
  7. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #7
    Both of them. And I am using handbrake 9.3. VLC is 9.8 but it cant open the DVD on VLC past the menus. The reason I mentioned that is because there is no on-board decryption in handbrake. I had 9.2 the updater kept failing so I just went to the website to DL.
     
  8. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #8
    I am trying with different DVD's and getting mixed results. Borat is the pic I showed. VLC goes right through Blades of Glory but right now handbrake is hanging on title 35/36. I am going to try Jurassic Park. UPDATE: Jurassic Park worked great.
     
  9. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #9
    The best way to do DVD encodes is to first rip them to your HDD via MacTheRipper. And then encode the the VIDEO_TS folder via HandBrake.

    You can download the free MacTheRipper (2.6.6) which doesn't handle new releases that well. Or pay for MacTheRipper 3.0. It's definitely worth the money.
     
  10. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana

Share This Page