Handbrake tweaks?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by frog61, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. frog61 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #1
    Hi all

    I have the latest version of Handbrake and currently re-encoding an MKV file to MKV with AAC rather than VC1.

    Is there a quicker way of doing this at all?
    I seem to be getting at most 4fps!

    this is what I am using..
    Screen shot 2011-01-25 at 00.11.55

    2,4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4GB SDRAM

    what am I doing wrong?

    thanks in advance
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    You're not going anything wrong, the Core 2 Duo just doesn't have the muscle to go much faster with such a file as you are encoding. Not unless you don't mind a lower resolution or lower quality, at least.
     
  3. frog61 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
  4. JonLa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #4
    I currently have a 2.1 C2D in my Vaio Win7 laptop and it would take about the same time (and I've tried with both 2G and 4G of RAM)

    How long would a tv episode of about 40 minutes ripped from a dvd take? Just interested, as thinking about one of the c2d Macs to replace it.
     

Share This Page