Handbrake & VLC Question

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by gregruns, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. gregruns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm brand new at trying to get dvd's on my iPad. My question is....Do I need to have VLC and handbrake together or can I use handbrake all by itself to rip my dvd's? And if I need VLC, do I need to have it open while using handbrake? Thank you in advance!
     
  2. Stovepiper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #2
    You don't need VLC to rip DVDs. Just use Handbrake and select the iPad preset, it will produce a file that will play perfectly on the device.
     
  3. gregruns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #3
    Thank you so much! Also, from what I've seen, there isn't an "iPad" selection, so should I just do "Apple TV" then?
     
  4. Stovepiper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #4
    I'm using Handbrake version .9.5 and it has a "Toggle Presets" button on the far right. iPad is in that list of presets. If you have to use the Apple TV preset though, I think it should work for iPad as well.
     
  5. gregruns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
  6. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #6
    You actually do need VLC installed. The past few versions of Handbrake don't include the decoding libraries anymore. Handbrake uses the VLC libraries.
     
  7. gregruns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #7
    Oh ok, thanks! Which version do i dl, the 32 or 64?
     
  8. Stovepiper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #8
    Oh wow, I had no idea the two were linked. Thanks for the insight! I haven't updated VLC in ages, guess I should do that.
     
  9. navt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #9
    Depends on the device you are downloading to. It says on the tin.
     
  10. whotony macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #10
    Does everything take forever t finish?

    I'm adding a 1 and a half hour movie and its taking nearly 3.5 hours in iPad mode.
     
  11. navt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #11
    Normal preset works fine for iPad and is quicker.
     
  12. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    Length doesn't tell us much. File size is the key factor. It also depends on how current you computer's cpu is.
     

Share This Page