HandBraked in Universal, but won't copy to iPhone

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by thinbluebrine, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. thinbluebrine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #1
    I'm new, please be nice!

    I've ripped a load of DVDs using HandBrake and the Universal preset so that it'll work on my Apple TV and my iPhone - but it won't copy over to my iPhone. I tick the boxes, but nothing actually copies.

    I'm using:

    HandBrake Version 0.9.3 (2008112300)
    iPhone 1st gen 16GB
    MacBook Pro running Leopard 10.5.6

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. thinbluebrine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #2
    I've attached a screen grab of on of the files (via finder). I'm wondering if my preset of Universal is wrong?!

    iPhone specs says "MPEG-4 video, up to 2.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels"

    But the files seem to be H.264, over 2.5Mbps, and larger than 640x480!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thinbluebrine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #3
    Am I the only person with this problem?? Surely not!

    Does universal work for you? Please reply, even if you just say 'yes'.
     
  4. thinbluebrine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #4
    Hmm. Ok. Guess it's just me then. Shame no-one has even given me the time to welcome me to the forums!

    Oh well.
     
  5. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #5
    You could just give it a little time for someone to answer...
     
  6. Albion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #6
    you may also want to consider the Handbrake forum itself of course. But make sure you provide an activity log!
     
  7. thinbluebrine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #7
    Yay! Thanks for replying guys! Yes, I tried HandBrake forums a few days ago and no-one has replied there either.
     
  8. thinbluebrine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #8
    Does anyone know where the presets are stored on my computer?
     
  9. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #9
    Some info

    I'm not quite sure if the real limitation is 640x480, or 720x480

    Anyway, from your screen grabs it looks like you live in a PAL (non North American, Japan) country and your source video is full screen not widescreen.

    The key to iPod and iPhone resolution, at least on the current models is that total pixel resolution has to be less than 640x480=307200??. I know from my own experience, the first iPhone can play back video at 720x360 which is widescreen.
    720x360=259200 < 307200

    So you might need to crop or shrink your video so that the dimensions width x height <=307200. Also, I'm not 100% sure, but height might be limited to 480 max.

    Give this a try and post back your results
     
  10. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #10
    Not much people can comment on without an Activity Log.

    The total bitrate is pretty much bang on 2.5Mbps, and then subtract the two audio tracks, and the video bitrate will be less.

    In the Activity Log it has a section on the resolution and what decisions were made regarding it. That is fairly important in cases like this. I guess it is certainly possibly that the resizing isn't right for Universal - all it does is set the maximum width to 720, and then keep the aspect ratio, which will dictate the height - and your resolution is odd given that constraint (sure you didn't change anything in the picture settings?).

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  11. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #11
    I'm not 100%, but I think jbrjake answered this on the HB forums. Preset scaling bug + PAL content.
     
  12. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #12
  13. Bye Bye Baby macrumors 65816

    Bye Bye Baby

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    i(am in the)cloud
  14. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #14
    At making cocktails, yes.

    At other things, depends on what you want, I believe it is the best all around encoder. Some others are better for more advanced encoding, and others are easier to use, but usually don't give as good results as HB.

    For the average user HandBrake is the best, yes (in fact I liked it so much that I also contribute code to the project).

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  15. thinbluebrine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #15
  16. Albion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #16
    I've been using it for over 12 months and have found it to be an easy to use package and which produces very nice encodes for both my iPod and HDTV. I use the Universal preset now which takes a lot of guesswork out of the process and do come across the preset bug sometimes, but for the most part don't have any issues.

    The Universal setting produces quality on my 42" LCD 1080p screen that I cannot distinguish from the original DVD with my eyes, so I'm extremely happy. So happy that I have so far encoded over 2TB's of tv shows and movies with it! The ability to queue encodes is a godsend, as I generally rip a lot of content with MtR and then queue it up in HB, often well over 60 items in the queue at any one time.

    The HB forum for the most part is useful but be aware that the administrators are somewhat sensitive to what they consider "stupid" questions or people who ignore their instructions regarding activity logs. They lock threads with great regularity and without compunction so just be aware of this. Some of these chaps do frequent this Macrumors forum and have provided great responses here however, as you have found in this thread.
     
  17. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #17
    That hurts my feelings... :D
     
  18. mwpeters8182 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    North America is NTSC, not PAL.
     
  19. Albion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #19
    Sorry mate, just wanted to let the OP know that it can be very Darwinian over at the HB forum and one has to have a strong constitution to go over there and ask questions. :D

    Not complaining mind, I just think this forum is a more "gentle" and "safe" environment for asking HB questions, but only because guys like you Nightstorm take the time to provide responses over here, where you are certainly not compelled to do so.

    So if you haven't been thanked before for providing this service, please accept my thanks, and generally to you and the rest of the administrators and dev's for HB. It's a great product and has transformed how I watch my ever growing DVD collection!

    Regards

    Alan
     
  20. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #20
    No worries, I'll definitely agree with you that it's best if a user provides all the requested information first when posting on the Handbrake forums. We try to help, but it can be quite overwhelming and frustrating to chase an issue that would have been solved in 5 seconds with an activity log.

    Thanks for the kind words; I enjoy participating in both communities and hope that I can help users based on my own experiences and experiments. ;)
     

Share This Page