Handoff available for 3rd party apps?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by giancoes, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. giancoes macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #1
    Ever since I upgraded to public beta 3 I've had my Bluetooth and wifi on constantly to see how well handoff worked with my other devices in beta and its been great. But today I was using facebook on my iPad and when i went to check something on my phone on the left corner was the facebook logo like it does for regular handoff. This has never happened to me before so do you guys think it was a one off glitch or are 3rd party apps getting support for handoff?
     
  2. Stickharuhi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #2
    Since iOS 8 support Handoff for 3rd party app.
     
  3. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #3
    For apps like facebook and twitter and such though?? Cause obviously I know starbucks and airline apps had location based handoff but i had never seen it work for those apps I mentioned and even now I can't get it to handoff facebook again.
     
  4. Stickharuhi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #4
    Handoff only working. When Facebook has on OSX desktop client. I think then working
     
  5. GreyOS, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015

    GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #5
    This could be Proactive not Handoff, which would mean you regularly use Facebook at that time or location and it was suggesting it to you

    See this recent MacRumors article about Proactive suggestions http://www.macrumors.com/2015/08/11/proactive-suggestions-ios-9-closer-look/

    edit: but it could be Facebook has added support for Handoff... but what could you possible be handing off? Were you in the middle of a status update? Did handoff take you to the same profile/page you were looking at?
     
  6. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #6
    No see I thought that too but it said facebook from my iPad on the phone, if it would have been proactive it would have said good morning or something thats how i know it was handoff.
     
  7. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #7
    Cool, see my edit. Will be interested to hear more about this if it's the case. I don't have a 2nd device on me to test :)
     
  8. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #8
    I know right hopefully developers start updating their apps so that it can be done or if its on apples side they allow developers to do it. Also i had read the article when it came out Ive been thinkering with proactive since I installed the first beta on my phone and I love it even though it doesn't drastically chamge my iPhone/iPad experience its cool that my phone gets to know the patterns of my day to day life.
     
  9. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #9
    by the way you said proactive suggestions normally have a message (like 'good morning' if it's the morning) - however i think that's only in the app switcher. you only mentioned that you saw it in the bottom left hand corner, so i'm assume the lock screen, where i don't think messages show. the other thing is i'm not always sure it always has a message, though i have no idea. say you always used an app at 5pm, what would its message be.. good afternoon/evening? eh i dunno. maybe only when it's an obvious thing like you're waking up? hmmm
     
  10. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #10
    Handoff has been supported for 3rd party apps since iOS 8. But developers have to enable it in their app, since it is supposed to be context aware (If I'm looking at a specific project in Things, Handoff puts me in the same place on the desktop app or on my other iOS device). That context has to come from the app, Apple can't do it itself.

    Facebook updates frequently enough that it might have simply been added in their recent update too. Not many apps jumped on the feature immediately, to be honest.
     
  11. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #11
    Once I saw it on the lockscreen I opened the phone and went to the app switcher and thats where I saw that it said it was handoff from my iPad. And I'm not sure when its at different times of the day but cause i have yet to experience it at another time other than the morning but when its proactive in the morning it has always said good morning to me haha.
     
  12. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #12
    Yeah that does make sense since it was a feature introduced last year lets hope developers change their mind and update their apps for it.
     
  13. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #13
    I finally got it to work again apparently it does the handoff when you are reading articles not just plain old using the app alone.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #14
    I believe they've had that feature for a while. I remember pre iOS 9 I was able to do that in only very certain scenarios. I don't have the iPad anymore to test.

    Possibly one of those "limited feature testing releases" they do literally all the time (one of my friends has a Google Material design like button for making posts, but I don't, for example)
     
  15. giancoes thread starter macrumors member

    giancoes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #15
    Then maybe its that but i hope it sticks its a pretty good feature.
     

Share This Page