Handoff does not work with passcode enabled?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by ajf.350d, Oct 8, 2014.

  1. ajf.350d macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    #1
    Hi, as per the title has anyone else found Handoff will not work if you use passcodes or TouchID, and the idevi e you are going to Handoff FROM is locked?

    Example.
    Reading article on iPhone, but stop to drive home.
    iPhone locks in the meantime.

    Now want to pick up the article at home on my iPad Air.
    It will not work unless I first unlock the iPhone.

    Both devices have the same Apple ID etc assigned to them and it does work once the Handoff device is unlocked.

    It is just really annoying and spoils what would otherwise be a really great feature.
     
  2. afsnyder macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #2
    Yes, the phone has to be unlocked and open. Basically it activates Bluetooth handoff when you're using the device. You wouldn't want it draining your battery all day... would you?
     
  3. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I thought Bluetooth doesn't drain a lot of battery juice when it is enabled but not using it? :apple:
     
  4. irnchriz, Oct 8, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2014

    irnchriz macrumors 65816

    irnchriz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    If I'm browsing a webpage on my iPhone and I pickup my iPad there is a safari icon in the bottom left corner. If I pull this up it asks me for my pin then proceeds to load the handoff page from my phone.

    This also works from my iPad to the iPhone.

    BUT if I pickup the phone and unlock it with Touch ID it skips to the home screen.

    So if you want to use handoff then you are best to either poke the power button or quickly poke the home button to just wake the display so that you can swipe up for handoff.
    Didn't realise that this all works without wifi too, cool.
     
  5. ajf.350d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    #5
    I guess if it did have a significant effect on battery it wouldn't be worth it, but I usually have bluetooth turned on anyway so would it make much difference in that case?

    Just seems an odd move as it makes the feature a bit more cumbersome to use.

    To irnchriz - I know what you mean but this wasn't what I was asking. It only works if you unlock the Handoff device first.
     

Share This Page