Handoff Gone?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by langscinema, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. langscinema macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #1
    So looks like a settings toggle has been added to iOS B3 but also removed from OSX D3.
    Wasn't able to get them working on previous beta and was hoping like others this update would offer it but.......
    Kinda assuming at this point this option will not work at all, correct?
     
  2. TitsLegendary macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #2
    It's not showing up on mine either. You're not alone...

    That being said, I've got a late 2011 MBP that's not compatible with handoff.
     
  3. dhy8386 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #3
    Its under General in Sys Pref. There for me.

    That said, i can't get it to work now where as it worked in b2
     
  4. ajnozari macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    #4
    It is confirmed that any models that do NOT support handoff will have the option removed from the settings.

    That being said, if you've updated your mac to have a bluetooth 4.0 it may show up, not sure if this is done via detecting the model or if it is based on whether or not the bluetooth module supports BT 4.0. That still needs to be determined.
     
  5. Stynger macrumors newbie

    Stynger

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    #5
    I have a early 2011 MacBook Pro with a mid 2012 card upgraded in it.
    The option has disappeared.

    This did happen when a clean install was done after the upgrade. The option
    wasn't there on install, but at some point an update came available and re-enabled the option. Though even enabled never functioned.
     
  6. matty.p macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    The weird thing is that in DP2 under About this Mac it said that Continuity was available but never worked for me but now under DP3 it doesn't show the option in System Preferences or under About this Mac the field isn't even listed.
     
  7. Scoop24 macrumors regular

    Scoop24

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    New York
  8. GTPprix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #8
    LOL Came here to state the same even though if you search for handoff in preferences it will show it still being under general but its obviously not there. The odd thing is its also gone from my bluetooth device info the handoff compatible or whatever it said is gone. I have a mid 2011 MacBook air that I was under the impression was compatible.
     
  9. rdinterman macrumors member

    rdinterman

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    The mystery continues, I have a late 2011 MBA which has BT 4.0 on board. Was there on B2, but not B3. Must be different parameters than just BT 4.0 to work.
     
  10. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #10
    Enable HandOff is not on my MacBook Pro 2011, but it was there in DP2...I was even thinking of upgrading my card to get it.
     
  11. bige12 macrumors 6502

    bige12

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    Vienna, VA
    #11
    IT is not there for me either
     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    As I was predicting, option is present in a 2008 MP upgraded with ac WiFi and BT 4.0.

    So looks like both are needed for these new features
     
  13. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #13
    Its missing for me as well when running on my nMP 2013.
     
  14. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #14
    Wait, so you upgraded your internal chip and its fine? I might just upgrade my MBP to Bluetooth LE and see.
     
  15. Stynger macrumors newbie

    Stynger

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    #15
    You will need a card that supports both BTLE 4 and AC. The BTLE isn't enough to get full functionality.
     
  16. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #16
    Don't Macbook Pro 2011 models support a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi??
     
  17. Stynger macrumors newbie

    Stynger

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    #17
    You can get everything but ac. The card from the mid 2012 supports and fits in the 2011, but doesn't support ac.
     
  18. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #18
    Oh my :O do you have any recommendations? I would really appreciate the support >< feel free to message me
     
  19. Stynger macrumors newbie

    Stynger

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    #19
    As of right now, its still very early in this.

    I do have Phone/SMS working.
    Handoff is a no go, at the moment.
     
  20. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #20
    Oh wow I see, I also have SMS/Phone working, please keep me posted on the progress xD
     
  21. b1gted macrumors regular

    b1gted

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    #21
    Same here. Handoff doesn't work even though enabled on both 2013 iMac and iPhone 5s. SMS/Phone calls from iMac work fine.
     
  22. ProphetX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #22
    I have the toggle visible on my rmbp late 2013. It seems to be working perfectly as it did with the first 2 betas.
     

Share This Page