Handoff on MBA Mid 2011

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by venom466, Sep 13, 2014.

  1. venom466 macrumors member

    venom466

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Hi all,

    I know that is already open a topic on this matter, but is referred to MBP :)
    Anyone knows if there is a trick to enable this feature on MBA?

    Thaaaanks :)
    Fabio
     
  2. bige12 macrumors 6502

    bige12

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    Vienna, VA
  3. zduhac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    #3
    Looks like it's not working for now. I just hope it will work once the final public version is released.
     
  4. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #4
    Handoff, in all of it's different features, will not be fully implemented until October with a subsequent release of iOS 8. That is per Apple.
     
  5. gamesetmatch macrumors regular

    gamesetmatch

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA, USA
    #5
    I'm not able to receive phone calls in my Mac, even after signing in and out of iCloud, and making sure that Facetime, Messages and the Wi-Fi network is the same for my iPhone and Macbook.

    Is this also of the features Apple pushed to October? I thought the SMS relay (which is also not working for me) was the only one set aside for the moment.

    Maybe I am setting my devices in a wrong way?

    Thanks for your help & suggestions.
     
  6. jeffg819 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    #6
    I've got the same question. According to some stuff I've read, the mid-2011 MBAs have the right "LMP" version. That being said, the option to turn this on (System Preferences -> General) does not show the same option on my MBA as I find on my rMBP. I'm using the Beta 3 version on both machines.

    I really like the feature as I've been able to use it on the rMBP.
     
  7. iolinux333 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #7
    Interestingly Google Hangouts yesterday handed off a phone call for me yesterday from my mid2011 MBA running Mavericks to my iPhone5 on 7.1.2. I know that's off topic, but it was totally unexpected and I was like "whoa!"
     
  8. zduhac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    #8
    It's working fine for me. I installed both iOS 8 and PB3 yesterday.
     
  9. AirJordan613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #9
    I have a mid 2011 11" macbook air and just download the yosemite beta. I've read online where the handoff setting is supposed to be and mine is absent. Everything I've read also indicates that this computer should be compatible. It has bluetooth 4.0 LE. Handoff is enabled on my iPhone 5S. Any thoughts on this?
     
  10. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #10
    for full functionality you need to install a wifi ac/bt4.0le card, while the 2011 has bt 4.0 le it doesn't have wifi ac.

    Also regular texting thru continuity was pushed back till octoberish

    Lastly iPhone 4s is not supported with handoff though it does send voice calls thru if you have the wifi ac/ bt 4.0le card installed.

    I assure you I've been researching this for months and these are my findings.
     
  11. AirJordan613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #11
    How hard is that to replace? Do you have a part number? Also I have a 5S not a 4S
     
  12. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #12
  13. AirJordan613, Sep 18, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2014

    AirJordan613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #13
    So I would need to purchase that card. It looks like there's a couple floating on eBay. I can't gauge from your posted pictures how involved the install is. Can you elaborate? Also does this upgrade allow you to use handoff on your mid 2011 macbook air? Also do you think this feature will be brought back to computers still on wifi n? Trying to gauge whether the upgrade is even worth it if it'll be made available soon.
     
  14. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #14
    -You unscrew the back cover(you'll need a P5 screwdriver)
    -once open you detach the 2 antenna wires, remove the screw holding your current wifi card in.
    -remove 2 screws holding the motherboard along the edge just enough to pull the antenna wires out.
    -remove screws from lid hinge on the right side and clip metal holding the antenna wires in place.
    -replace hinge screws, insert new card, attach antenna wires and tuck them under the board, replace motherboard screws and you are good to go!

    Seems a lot harder then it is, whole thing took me 10 min, then I undid it for pictures and put it back hah

    Also yes everything works except regular text messaging, thats coming next month
     
  15. AirJordan613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #15
    Sounds great. How do the antenna wires attach? And do you think this functionality would be made available later for my macbook or should I go ahead and purchase the wifi card?

    I believe this would be the correct card:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/351143553371?lpid=82

    Can you confirm? I've been a windows user for years and I just picked up this mac last week. Thanks

    -Jordan
     
  16. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #16
    You just press them on real easy. And thats very cheap for that card (got mine for 35) so I would get that.

    ps my name is also Jordan hah pleasure to help
     
  17. AirJordan613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #17
    Thanks Jordan :) I got it and the screwdriver on order. Seems simple enough, just routing the wires is all that concerns me.
     
  18. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #18
    That part panicked me a little but it really isn't bad, also clipping the hinge is scary but it all works out with very little hassle. The only reason you have to do those extra steps is because the ac/bt4.0le cards are about 1/2 inch longer. By clipping the attachment to the hinge it frees up that space.

    On the bright side your air will have better wifi range and if you get a wifi ac router you'll have faster speeds. So there are a couple advantages to this upgrade. You'll get a few more years out of the very capable 2011MBA.

    side note:if you have tmobile they just started giving out free ac routers that actually boost cell signals. Its a $200 wifi ac for free right now. I don't have Tmobile but I had a friend get one for me just for the wifi hah
     
  19. mrbyu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #19
    Hi Jordan, as a fellow 2011 MBA user, I also thank you for the information you provided. I'm not sure if I am going to replace the wifi chip because to me Handoff functionality is very much secondary to Continuity (sms and phone call relay), but if I ever change mind it's good to know what's the case.

    Do you know by any chance if my inability to use the instant hotspot feature is also connected to this issue or is that something I might be able to use later without swapping the wifi chip?
     
  20. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #20
    Yup thats because of no wifi ac, this would be fixed with the upgrade. Again unless you have a iPhone 4s then it just doesn't work.
     
  21. AirJordan613 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #21
    Do you think you could post some marked up pictures of where exactly you clipped and where components needed to be lifted, moved, etc? I saw the others you posted in a different thread but I feel like some arrows and circles might be easier to follow.
     
  22. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #22
    Without taking my air apart again I really can't and it really wouldn't help since I already did it, but I will try to be more clear with the pictures I had posted....

    In this picture you see on the bottom left two black screws, thats the display hinge unscrew what and just clip out the middle piece.
    [​IMG]
    once you replace the hinge and screw it together your antenna cable will look like this where it was attached (silver part in-between antenna wires, kinda looks like solder but its the clipped out piece)
    [​IMG]
    This picture is a closer picture of the hinge screws on the other side, while you don't have to touch that side it is a clear picture of what the hinge screws look like. also you can see the motherboard screw in this picture off to the left, its out in this picture but you can see the antenna wire tucks behind it.
    [​IMG]

    I hope that helps, any other questions just ask. Like I said its harder to explain then it is to perform.
     
  23. zduhac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    #23
    @UncleSchnitty Don't you think you've jumped the gun a bit? iPhone 5S doesn't support 802.11ac neither, and it is working fine with other Macs. So why would it need a Mac with 802.11ac?
    Maybe Handoff will be enabled in the final release, at least that's what I'm hoping for.
     
  24. UncleSchnitty, Sep 18, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2014

    UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #24
    Anything is possible but Ive been doing my research on this since Yosemite DP1. While they could add support by public launch its HIGHLY unlikely. Just from the computer side continuity/handoff does a check for certain wifi/bluetooth card to enable features. Apple would have to pay developers to create more compatibility. I say highly unlikely because Apple is a hardware company and older machines not having a feature is just another way to get people to upgrade.

    Im not saying "absolutely not and anyone who doesn't agree is wrong" Im just stating my opinion based off a lot of research and time spent on this. So sure you can wait and see and if they don't add support my instructions are here for you if you need them.

    Also whats the downside if they in a off chance do make it work? You have a higher speed/ longer range wifi card for $20? Also I have nothing to gain from any of this except helping others.
     
  25. rmercier macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014

Share This Page