Happy (typing) Days May Be Here Again

JamesGoodman

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 3, 2015
I'm a writer and professor who has been making do -- i.e. suffering -- with the Butterfly keyboard since the release of the 12'' MacBook whatever year that was. It went back to Apple two or three times and then was replaced entirely (thank you Apple Care) in the late summer of 2017. I have a 12.9 inch iPad with a Smart Keyboard that I like better than the the Butterfly, but I can't do all my work on it without a better file system. I've mostly used it with external keyboards, Apple, Das, Logitech, going so far (for about a year now) as installing Karibiner Elements to disable the internal keyboard and sit my Logitech keyboard or Apple Bluetooth keyboard right on top of the butterfly. That's been about the best I could do.

About 100 times since 2015 I almost pulled the trigger at the Lenovo website for a Carbon X whatever, with its incomparable keyboard -- I used Thinkpads almost exclusively in the 1990s-- but I simply couldn't stomach the idea of going back to Windows, and leaving the ecosystem that allows me such smooth and effortless movement and synching between laptop, tablet, and phone.

I also almost ordered the 16inch -- even though I don't need a fraction of the power and certainly don't need to carry around the extra pound and a half.

At any rate, my new Air is arriving to tomorrow, and I'll be so happy to stash all the external keyboards and get back to sane laptop computing.

And I'm getting $390 for this virtually worthless to me by itself 2017 MacBook Air. I am typing this on it now, and it is horrible.

Reactions: mj_

snow755

macrumors 65816
Sep 12, 2012
I have the. 2017 MacBook Air. and I love it. its. a grate. laptop and its all I need

mj_

macrumors 6502a
May 18, 2017
Austin, TX