Hard disk ethernet connection to Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mvsell, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. mvsell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #1
    Can anyone provide clear instructions on connecting a 2Tb Lacie hard drive to the Airport Extreme via one of the ethernet ports? The HD does not support a USB connection and I already have another HD connected to the Airport Extreme via the USB port. I am also working off of a PC laptop.
    thanks
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    does that hard drive have an ethernet port? U need to setup your NAS drive using the instructions provided by Lacie to get it setup.
     
  3. mvsell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #3
    thanks for reply. Lacie does have ethernet port. Do i isntall direct to PC first (following Lacie installation instructions) then shift over to Airport Express? Would i see it then?? I'm not familiar with what NAS means.
     
  4. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #4
    Okay well what ports does the lacie drive have? You know you can attach a small USB hub to your Airport Express and connect a few USB drives.
     
  5. mvsell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #5
    Error copying files

    Thank you - i solved the problem above. New problem now - may not be related to Airport Extreme directly... When copying files the operation seems to time out.
    To be clear, i have 3 HDs.
    A) First is a Western Digital connected to Airport Extreme via USB port - no problems,
    B) Second is a Lacie 2Big Network (2Tb) connected to Airport Extreme via Ethernet port, this HD has 2 USB expansion ports, and
    C) third HD is a Lacie Rugged 1Tb HD connected to 2Big Network via one of the USB expansion ports.
    When i try copying data from C to B the error message i get is: "Error copying file or folder - Cannot copy [insert file name]: The specified network name is no longer available".
    I could connect C to Airport Extreme via USB by adding a splitter but what i have should also work, no? Just trying to understand what might be going on.
    Thanks for patience,

     
  6. acevergreen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    2) Lacie 2TB Network is Time Machine compatible
    3) Lacie rugged 1TB is not compatible with TM.
     
  7. serene macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #7
    How to get this done ? (Hard disk ethernet connection to Airport Extreme)

    Hi, I see that you have manage to connect the HD via Ethernet to airport extreme, may you please explain how you have got it done ?
     
  8. serene macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #8
    Hard disk ethernet connection to Airport Extreme

    Hi,
    Actually I have just got my airport extreme and the 2 Tb Ethernet hardisk, both are purchase for the purpose of setting up a share HD over the network. However, with airport extreme working, Ethernet and wireless computer all connected ok, internet ok, just that Hd not showing up in the disk menu, and there is no other button to manually add the drive.

    Can anyone please please help ? Thank you very much.

    serene
     

Share This Page