Hard disk won't go away from desktop

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by miamialley, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I installed Vista on my uni MBP just now. The hard drive for the windows install won't go away from my desktop, even though I have de-selected 'hard disks' from the finder menu. Why won't it go off the desktop? Any help?

    Also, how can I rename it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You rename it from within Windows. You can't do anything to it in OS X without NTFS-3G and MacFUSE.
     
  3. miamialley thread starter macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Okay thanks. I'm more concerned with getting rid of it from my Mac desktop. As you can see, I have selected to not show hard disks, but there it is.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    Rename it from within Windows and start the name with a period "." like .Windows, and it won't show up.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. isolence macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #6

    How do I rename it from Windows? Any screen shots please?
     
  7. miamialley thread starter macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    If I did it correctly, I just right clicked my hard disk ('my computer' folder) and clicked 'rename.' I'm still downloading updates for Vista, so haven't tested it yet to see if it works.
     
  8. miamialley thread starter macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    This worked for me. Thanks a lot!
     
  9. isolence macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #9
    Hey miamialley! Could you please tell me in detail of how you did it?

    I apologize for any inconvenience. Thanks for your time.
     
  10. miamialley thread starter macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    Using Windows:

    Go to 'my computer,' then right click your windows hard drive and rename it. I named mine: (it won't necessarily be named the same as it shows up on your Mac desktop.)

    .VistaPC

    This did it for me.
     

Share This Page