Hard drive capacity question

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mansa, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. mansa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #1
    This might be a stupid question but bare with me I am a newbie.

    I just bought a mac book with a 320GB HD but it says the disk capacity is only 297GB. I was wondering why this is.

    Help Much appreciated.
     
  2. alexbates macrumors 65816

    alexbates

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #2
    That's how any hard drive you buy is going to be. And it varies by brand. I also have a 320GB and it really has 299GB
     
  3. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #3
    It's a math thing. It has to do with the fact that 1000 does not equal 1024. Point is, everything is normal with your 320GB HD showing as about 297.77.

    If you need a full explanation or a need to confirm the fact that everything is normal, click the MRoogle link in my signature and search the topic because it's been discussed several times. -GDF
     
  4. Scippy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    Wikipedia gives a good explanation.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigabyte#Gigabytes_vs._gigabits
     
  5. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    basically, to dumb it down even more: Your drive is 320,000,000,000 bytes, which in fact equals about 297gb, but for simplicity purposes they say it equals 320gb.
     
  6. mansa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #6
    Yep math thing not mac thing. I didn't think about that I should remember seeing as I am studying IT and Business. I make the excuse that we are more focused on business lol.

    Thanks !
     
  7. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #7
    Hard to believe how many threads we have on exactly the same question. Does no one bother to search first? It seems like there's a new version of the same question every other day.
     
  8. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #8
    Frankly, I always have a moment when I feel like a sucker or a chump when I search first -- "Here I am, taking my own time to find my own answer, when I could just clog the board with a new thread..."

    Then I take a deep breath, say a mani, and I feel better -- about 1.024 times better, in fact.

    :)
     
  9. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  10. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
  11. raremage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #11
    I'm not convinced it's for 'simplicity purposes' as much as 'advertising purposes.'

    It's sorta like buying a dozen eggs and only getting eleven - less inventory costs on the part of the farmer means they spend less to get the same money from you. They could simply advertise it as eleven eggs (which would generate less revenue) or include that twelfth egg (which would increase the manufacturing costs) - but why bother, when they can simply claim it's a dozen, and then include a disclaimer in Wiki that the "dozen" number is an approximation.

    It's a bit of a shame that we all just accept this, but it's been going on for so long now that it's pretty well ingrained in the business. At this point, if anyone started calculating drive size based on actual bits, I think people would be more confused, not less!
     
  12. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #12
    I was always under the impression that hard drives are (close) to the capacity they claim but by the time you get your OS and everything installed on there they show lower capacity (obviously)

    I'm probably wrong tho..
     
  13. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #13
    Yeah, you're wrong :p I doubt OS X takes about 40GB on my 500GB HDD while it takes 20GB on his 320GB HDD :p
     
  14. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #14
    Yea I never gave to much thought to it. I just thought that the 'missing space' was due to OS being installed.
    But like I said I was probably wrong!
    Learn something new everyday! ;)
     
  15. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #15
    Nope. It's like buying a dozen eggs and getting a dozen, but the box gives the contents in octal (14) while you count in decimal (12).
     
  16. raremage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #16
    Well, technically true ;) I just thought that would make the analogy even more confusing.

    Although I'd argue that it gives the contents as 12 (octal) when it is really 10 (decimal), since most people think a dozen is twelve.
     

Share This Page