Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stag

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 4, 2006
Hello all, mac newbie here...

Recently purchased a 2nd hand Mac G5 and would like to know what you people recommend as a good hard drive cleaner to permenately deleate internet surfing files?

Thx in advance
Stag

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
Do you want to erase your entire drive or just your internet cache, cookies, and history?

Safari comes with an option called Reset Safari and Private Browsing.

http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/safari/

Surf Securely
Safari protects your personal information on shared or public Macs when surfing the Web. Go ahead and check your bank account and .Mac email at the library or shop for birthday presents on the family Mac. Using Safari’s new Private Browsing feature, no information about where you visit on the Web, personal information you enter or pages you visit are saved or cached. It’s as if you were never there.
That is if you have 10.4.x installed.

stag

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 4, 2006
Hi, thx for the speed in that reply...

Just to deleate internet files which become imbedded into the hard-drive (after deleating cache, history and temp files etc), so any data in unrecoverable and is perm. deleated...

Cheers
S

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
Bergen, Norway
Aah... after deleting everything and emptying trash you can use Disk Utility to Erase Free Space... on your drive. That should make it unrecoverable, for all practical purposes (unless you have some corporate or government secrets ;)).

stag

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 4, 2006
Is there not an application or programme just to deleate (make unrecoverable), internet files?

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
キャンプスワ&#
stag said:
Is there not an application or programme just to deleate (make unrecoverable), internet files?