Hard drive crashed- replaced with new one- still get blinking folder

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by peteyson2012, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. peteyson2012 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #1
    I recently had my macbook pro hard drive crash and replaced it. I have an older Macbook a1181 that I used to install the lion software on the new one so I know it works. I put it in the pro, and still has the question mark. I put the MacBook a1181 hard drive in the pro and it works. What do I do?
     
  2. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  3. peteyson2012 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #3
    The thing is there is a hard drive I have that works in the machine.
     
  4. mcardlek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #4
    I've seen this before. The hard drive cable needs to be replaced anyway. If the new drive works in another machine and isn't anything strange like a strange 3rd party SSD, it is likely the cable is bad since it's being used differently by a new type of drive. An apple store will replace the part pretty quickly for about $15 plus labor.
     
  5. peteyson2012 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #5
    I have a hard drive that works in my MacBook Pro though. Doesn't that mean the hard drive cable is good?
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Why didn't you install the OS using the MBP?

    When you hold down "Option" during bootup you don't see the HD? Can you boot from the OSX install disk and select the startup disk?
     
  7. peteyson2012 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #7
    Not on different hard drives but the one working yes
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    Is there a reason you installed the OS onto the hard drive before you moved it over to the MBP? There is a chance that it is your HD cable..
     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    The cable is tied to the machine, not the hard drive, what part of that don't you understand?
     
  10. peteyson2012 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #10
    I'm just wondering why a certain hard drive works on my pro and others don't. If that one hard drive works how could it be the cable?
     
  11. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    Did you format the new HDD to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) before installing the OS?
     
  12. peteyson2012 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
  13. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #13
    You worded that poorly as that really was not what I had understood from your posts.

    The hard drive may have died in the process of being put in.
     
  14. peteyson2012 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #14
    I sorry about that. It was not my intention. I put the working hard drive back in my other macbook and it works. MacBook Pro only let's one of my hard drives work but i feel like it is super slow now
     

Share This Page