Hard drive crashed, whats next?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by brale76578, Jan 14, 2010.

1. brale76578 macrumors newbie

I would really appreciate any help that you could give me. Let me first off say that I am total new to using a iMac, I own 4 pc's and I have been using them since the early 90's. So I am very familiar with a PC and its OS. My girlfriend was giving a iMac to take home from her job because it no longer function. When I boot the computer up all I get is a flashing folder with a question mark and I can hear the Hard Drive making a ticking sound, which leads me to believe it has crashed. I have opened it up and and I am able to gain access to the Hard Drive.
    Do you think, if I replace the hard drive (I cant afford 640gb but I was looking at mac sales.com they have a 80gb for 30.00 bucks) will this solve my problem and next question is I was not giving the restore cd if I purchase a iMac OS X cd from ebay (Im a student on a tight budget) will that work? Since it is a G5 computer, do I have to get a G5 restore CD?

The spec's of the iMac
    24 inch widescreen
    2.66 Intel core 2 Duo
    4 GB of 1066mhz ddr3 Sdram
    640gb Serial ATA drive
    8x superdrive
    Nvidia deforce 9400M
    Built in ethernet, firewire and airport extreme

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

That's not a G5. Its an Intel iMac and a fairly new one at that. Any 3.5" SATA drive will work in that. PC or Mac. Call Apple and you can get the restore disks for $30 or so.

3. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

It's worth a shot.

Yes. Mac OS X Leopard and Mac OS X Snow Leopard will work fine.

As flopticalcube said, it's not a G5 computer. PowerPC G5 is a processor architecture that Apple used before going Intel. It's an Intel Core 2 Duo computer.

Any retail copy of Mac OS X will work fine. The only difference between the retail OS and the restore disks that come with the computer is that the restore disks include iLife.