Hard Drive Fill Up Through Internet Usage

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by zedsdead, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #1
    I just got back from the Apple Store, and I have what seems to be a new problem with the Macbook Air:

    The hard drive begins to fill up slowly with every single usage of the Internet. Meaning every web page accessed causes it to slowly add more space to the hard drive. I ended up having zero space left. I then decided to reformat, which did nothing. Problem happened again.

    The Apple guy believes (as I do) that is a problem with the SSD. Anyone else even heard of this happening.

    I am now going on my third machine, first one returned due to dead pixels in the screen, now this.
     
  2. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #2
    Usage of the internet, I assume using a browser? Have you tried switching browsers and emptying caches? Where is the usage at? library/.....?

    Weird. How much space do you have available before using internet?
     
  3. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    About 35 gigs. Then slowly nothing. Very slowly.

    yes,tried the Cache and History and the like. Nothing.
     
  4. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #4
    How long did it take to fill up? Is the new one doing the same thing???
     
  5. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #5
    You try going from Safari to Firefox and see if it replicates?
     
  6. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #6
    I will try firefox. I had it only a day, and most of the usage was within a hour.
     
  7. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #7
    Same problem with Firefox. I have only lost about 4 gigs since this morning. Not as bad as yesterday, but I did more with the network then. I am going to have to send this one back it looks like.
     
  8. Crossbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #8
    you weren't saving some pRon were you????
    (blaming it on the browser, how immature!)


    :D :p :apple:
     
  9. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #9
    This is very strange.... I have had no problems with my SSD MBA and I am on the web at various websites for extensive periods of time. No accumulation of anything taking up my HD space!

    I hope you are able to figure this out and resolve the problem promptly!
     
  10. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #10
    4 gigs!? It had to go somewhere... When you took it to the Apple store, did you get on their network as guest and show them? This is really a bizarre problem.

    It sounds as if everything cached gets written to disk and saved? But even then, 4 gig? Did you just connect to one page statically and see if it starts eating bytes or is it only while actively surfing. Can't see how this would be a hardware problem but then again I still use 8" floppies (sometimes.)

    Sorry Zed, hopefully you'll get it straightened out. And remember, it's not a motorcycle, it's a chopper;)
     
  11. Mactagonist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #11
    No amount of browsing could fill 35gb with temp files in an hour of browsing. There must be something else at work here.
     
  12. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
    #12
    I'm glad someone finally write that.
     
  13. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
  14. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #14
    Agreed. Sounds like a death loop somewhere.
    First, I would create a new user account, a "clean account." Try to replicate the problem on that account. If it still happens, something in your system is amuck. If it doesn't happen anymore, it's only affecting your original user profile (some app or preference probably).
    Either way, if it was me, this would drive me nuts and I would:

    Backup just your data, not your prefs, and re-install Leo.
    Try to replicate the problem as you install all the OS X updates, one by one from Software Update, and then your 3rd party apps, one by one. I bet you have some bad code running in there somewhere. Once it starts doing it again, the last app you installed/updated/patched is your problem.
     
  15. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #15
    I already reinstalled Leopard. I only installed iWork and Microsoft Office. Nothing else. My first SSD Air did not have this problem at all. I have not tried the user account thing, but I did do a fresh install, so I have been through that already.

    The Mac Geniuses had no idea what is happening. The web surfing is just eating at the hard drive somehow.

    Is there any way to search for the most recent files saved on the hard drive through spotlight?
     
  16. Mactagonist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #16
    I thought that to, but he says he already reinstalled the OS. Id agree with the genius and say I think it is a hardware defect in the storage controller or SSD.
     
  17. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #17
    I repeat, reinstall one-by-one, no iWork, no MS Office, not until you have tested the software update or install before it.

    And again, I HIGHLY recommend you test a new user account. Try the guest account, a new admin account, and a new standard account.
     
  18. iowamensan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #18
    Download Whatsize. (free, just Google it) It will tell you where everything is.
     
  19. MacFanBoyIIe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #19
    I know the genius suspects something wrong in the hardware. I suspect it too. I'm just trying to see if there is ANYTHING wrong with your software, maybe even your install disk. Did they/you run a Tech Tool Deluxe diagnostic?
     
  20. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #20
    Is the ONLY app running a browser - no Mail, Entourage, Outlook, Adobe Reader, etc.?
     
  21. zedsdead thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #21
    Yes. I will try that free program whatsize tomorrow. Thanks for all the advice. I have iWork and Office installed on other machines and I am running 10.5.2, so I can't see it being the software.

    Either way, thanks again!
     
  22. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #22
    Maybe the third will be a charm. Talk about a run of bad luck!
     
  23. jameskohn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #23
    Sounds either viral or I'm wondering if someone is pirating on to his wireless network and messing with him.
     
  24. nhshah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #24
    very strange...
    i don't think it would be the harddrive controller or any thing like that...

    how much time was it between receiving these 2 mbas? (the 2 that are giving you the consumption problem)

    i would also recommend checking out each thing one by one....

    are you changing ANY settings at all before you get on the internet?

    after you try using that tool see where the most space is being used....
    but even then i would recommend reinstalling leopard...
    get on the internet the first chance you can, without updates...
    also, what kinda internet connection/network are you using?
    any antivirus (haha, i know)
    what other machines do you have on your network....
    u may have some kinda mobile lan virus on another machine in your house...
    if u dont have encryption on ur network...then add some temporary
    encryption(from another machine) while leopard is installing
    and the first chance you can get on the internet.....
    connect through your neighbors internet....or maybe even starbucks...

    seems a little paranoid...
    but i am thinking it has something to do with your setup/network...
    (even if the same thing happened at the MacStore, bc the virus could
    have already manifested itself in your computer/browser before you left
    your house)
    or maybe even an overlapping time capsule glitch...


    i wish i could play with this problem hands on....

    please repost and keep us updated...
     
  25. CalMin macrumors 6502a

    CalMin

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #25
    Are you using iDisk syncing? I had an issue under Leopard, where my iDisk with ~2gigs of data swelled up to over 20gigs locally.

    It's a known issue, so I've stopped syncing it for now.
     

Share This Page