Hard Drive Format Question?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Frankydan100, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Frankydan100 macrumors regular

    Frankydan100

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #1
    Hi just a quick question, i have a 1tb hdd in my macbook pro which i fitted myself, Ive just sold the original 320gb drive that came with my mbp but want to wipe it first. It has osx and some programs on it etc.

    Can i just take out the 1tb drive put back in the 320gb, erase all with disk utility and then put back in the 1tb drive?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    yeap
     
  3. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yes. That will work. Or if you have an external enclosure you can use that.
     
  4. Frankydan100 thread starter macrumors regular

    Frankydan100

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #4
    Ok cheers, I just wasnt sure as the mbp will obviously have to boot up from the 320 and then im going to erase it all. just wasnt sure if this would cause any problems or not.

    Cheers.
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You may have to boot from your OS X disks after you have installed the 320GB HD.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    You'll need to boot from your OS X DVD and run Disk Utility from there.
     
  7. Frankydan100 thread starter macrumors regular

    Frankydan100

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #7
    Ok cheers, so its just a case of restarting the mbp with the osx disc in and holding down 'c' when it restarts right? Then I should be able to erase the HDD.
     
  8. tomf, Apr 24, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2011

    tomf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #8
    I too have a similar problem, i've just bought a mid 2010 mbp, and it's been restored to factory settings, however, i'm replacing the drive to a 1/1.5TB drive, but someone told me i need to format the new drive first.

    How do i do that if i don't have OSX on the new drive?

    thank you for any help and advice.

    Tom :)
     
  9. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    If you boot off the OS X disks you have the option within the Utilities menu.
     
  10. tomf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #10
    Thanks stridemat, very helpful, do i need to press anything when booting up or just put the new drive in, power on and install the disc?
     

Share This Page