HARD DRIVE FULL - iMac G3 233MHz

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by newsphoto, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. newsphoto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #1
    I have an iMac G3 233MHz with 256mb (128x2) of ram, the thing is chugging… OS 9.2.2 & OS X 10.2

    Here is the kicker (as if the 256mb of ram wasn’t) it has a 4 GB hard drive with 179.7mb free…

    How much drive space does OSX take? I am guessing that is what ate up the 4 GB drive, I know Windows Vista eats up hard drive space and memory. I was thinking of searching the net for restore discs and then building it back up to speed…

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1362?viewlocale=en_US
    I am guessing Mac OS 8.1 or Mac OS 8.5 would be a good start

    Here is what I know…

    Software Overview
    System Version: OS X 10.2 (6C115)
    Boot Volume
    Kernel Version: Darwin Kernel Version 6.0 Sat Jul 27 13:18:52 PDT 2002;root:xnu/xnu-344.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC

    Hardware Overview
    Machine Speed: 233MHz PowerPC G3
    Bus Speed: 67Mhz
    Number of Processors: 1
    L2 Cache Size: 512K
    Machine Model: iMac Version = 2.2
    Boot ROM Info: 3.0.f2

    Memory Overview
    J3/Bottom 128 Mb
    J1/Top 128 Mb

    Back in 1998 this was a nice little machine and we would have dreamed of owning such a beast in 1993. Can it be upgraded or am I better off trashing it… Help...
     
  2. Artofilm macrumors 6502a

    Artofilm

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #2
    Buy a new Mac with everything already preinstalled on it.
    The new iMacs are a great deal for what is included!
     
  3. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #3
    I would have to agree with the poster above me - Get yourself a new iMac - you really can't go wrong with it
     
  4. rfruth macrumors regular

    rfruth

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Get a new one, its only money ... My G3 has a whopping 9 GB hard disk (1 GB free) and I get the your startup disk is almost full message way too much (bad things can happen if the hard disk fills up so I try to avoid that) anyway get the "24 with lots of RAM :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page