hard drive help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Joelio, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. Joelio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    I'm thinking of replacing the hd on my 2.2 ghz 2 gb Ram 120 gb MBP. I know how to do it, that's not a problem, but how do I transfer everything? I have everything backed up on time mahine but i'm not sure if that will work. Any help woul be great. Thanks!
     
  2. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #2
    I've seen this asked 100 times, but have never done it myself. However, I can probably say what others will say.

    Carbon Copy Cloner.

    Get an external enclosure to put the new HDD in, make a CCC mirror of it, and that way when you put the new drive into your MBP, it'll just boot right on up.

    I hope I'm saying this correctly!
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    Not forgetting to try booting from the new drive in the enclosure first in case it's DOA it'll be a waste of time putting it in if it is
     
  4. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #4
    Oh, yeah. I forgot about that step!
     
  5. Mr. Clean macrumors member

    Mr. Clean

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    #5
  6. Snowbound macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #6
    I imagine that it can't be much different than switching to a new laptop. I've done that and it worked fine transferring my files via time machine. It was fairly intuitive, I doubt you'll have a problem.
     
  7. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    The difference is that you are moving EVERYTHING including system files, moving to a new laptop does not do that.
     

Share This Page