Hard Drive Issue on Late '09 27" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by thelucas, Jun 12, 2014.

1. thelucas macrumors member

Greetings,

My late '09 27" iMac has been very sluggish lately. Currently running Mavericks. It got to a point where upon startup I was getting endless beach balls whenever

I tried to do anything so I restarted in Safe Mode and ran Disk Utility. It indicates that my HD "has a hardware problem that can't be repaired". And S.M.A.R.T. Status Is "Failing". I ran Disk Warrior and I get the same general message. Running Repair Permissions seemed to help as now the beach balls aren't as prevalent.

Assuming that it's an option, is it worth it to install a new hard drive or just get a new machine? If a new hard drive is an option, what is a good hard drive to get (I'm not technically inclined so I'll likely ask the Genius Bar to do this for me).

2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

The hard drive has bad sectors and OS X is trying to read/write from/to them which is why it's getting so sluggish and beach balls.

I hope you have a good backup because total failure is imminent.

I think it's well worth just replacing the HDD with a new one or an SSD. I have a similar make iMac and it's still running great.

3. thelucas thread starter macrumors member

Thanks, yes. My critical data is on a Drobo and backed up to BackBlaze. Will Apple be able to install an SSD or is this something that I'd have to do outside of the Genius Bar? Any recommendations type of SSD?

4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

I don't think Apple will put an SSD in there, even if you pay them. Plus with your older iMac, you may run into a fan issue, that I go into here and solve.

I recommend the Samsung brand SSD's as I've had good results from them on several computers.

5. marzer macrumors 65816

marzer

Did you check for replacement eligibility?

https://www.apple.com/support/imac-harddrive/