Hard Drive not mounting

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nyzwerewolf, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. nyzwerewolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I have a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS 1TB HDD that I use as my Scratch Disk for my Final Cut Pro. It contains my 600GB worth of High Definition videos imported from my camera. Out of a blue, this drive no longer mounts. But, it appears in Disk Utility. When I try to mount this drive, this is what I get:
    [​IMG]


    When I press "Verify Disk" or "Repair Disk", this is what I get:
    [​IMG]

    This HDD was connected to my Mac Pro using NORCO-4618 PCI-X / PCI eSATA / SATA II / SATA I Controller Card RAID 0/1/5/10/JBOD Card. I tried connecting it directly to my Mac Pro, and have the same issue..:confused:

    any idea what's going on? any help/comments/suggestions very much appreciated!

    Thank you guys!
     
  2. rogair macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #2
  3. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #4
    I did a firmware upgrade through PC, still not mounting.:(

    right now, I am running Data Rescue II - Thorough Scan. 4 hrs remaining..
    Data Rescue have helped me before to recover data from unmountable HDDs (NTFS). Hopefully, it works this time as well.. crossing my fingers..

    [​IMG]
     
  4. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #5
    I have the same thing happening with a 1TB Western Digital drive. The drive is fine after rebooting the computer but it stops working after the computer sleeps.
     
  5. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #6
    Copy all your data to a different drive while you still can, to be safe.


    If you batch captured the footage don't worry about that, you can re-import it.

    Just save anything else on the drive and footage that was not batch captured.
     
  6. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    He already said the drive won't mount so he can't copy the files to a different drive.

    If he still has the footage...and it doesn't sound like he does.

    S-
     
  7. nyzwerewolf thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #8
    ok guys, update. Data Rescue picked up all my files from the HDD. So I am 50% relieved. Now I need to go get a 1TB drive to dump all these files.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page