Hard Drive/OptiBay Question?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MiamiMac, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. MiamiMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    #1
    First off, I'm new here, so hello- and if this is in the wrong section, I apologize!

    Anyway, I have a 2011 MacBook Pro, 13" with the 2.7 Ghz i7. I was looking at SATA III SSD upgrades, and came across OptiBay's website. First off, does anyone have any experience with this?

    And if it's reliable, would I be able to replace my current hard drive with an SSD, and put the current drive where the optical drive is now?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    Why not leave your HDD where it is and put the SSD in the OptiBay?
     
  3. MiamiMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    #3
    I want to use a SATA III SSD if possible. As far as I can tell, the port for the optical drive wouldn't be able to do SATA III. If it's too much trouble, or if I'm wrong (which is never out of the question) and the optical port actually supports SATA III, then I'd just do it that way.
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  5. MiamiMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    #5
    So it would more than likely be an easy, smooth swap? Just don't like to throw down that kind of money without being pretty damn sure. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page