Hard Drive Question..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ktm.Moto, Jan 13, 2011.

1. Ktm.Moto macrumors member

Hey guys, I am looking into Macbooks for college next year.

I have settled on the MacBook Pro 15" I5 processor. I am going to keep everything stock, but was wondering if it would be worth it to upgrade the hard drive to an SSD? If I were to do that, I could afford the 256gb, but would that even be enough?

Any input is appreciated! Thanks guys!

2. cameronwilby macrumors newbie

cameronwilby

Well, what are you studying? If you're doing something that desperately needs a quick computer then definitely, SSD is where it's at. I do software development and it really helps.

Also, 256GB will be enough. OSX uses 5GB of space, so you have 251GB to play with. That's enough to fill two classic iPods with music, with room left over for a tonne of essays etc.

3. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

AdamRock

4. Ktm.Moto thread starter macrumors member

I am just studying business, so I won't be using the computer to its full extent by any means. I have just heard that the SSD is just so much faster, and I am thinking more about the long term speed of the computer. I plan to keep this all through college, so I want it to last and still be decently fast as time goes on.

5. diazj3, Jan 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011

diazj3 macrumors 6502a

My advice is to get the stock drive and see if that's fast enough for you... if it is, then you are set. If you are not doing highly demanding tasks, the SSD will be marginally helpful in speeding up booting time and app launching. It'll be something nice to have, but not really critical. I think your money will be better spent on more RAM, Apple Care (IMO mandatory) or other accessory. The long term of the computer will not change as time goes by - it's not as if the speed degrades over time or anything, and you can always change to an SSD anytime.