Hard Drive Question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by fireshot91, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #1
    Okay here goes: I have 2 Internal Hard drives. One is a 1TB with ~500GB stored. The other my C: is 160GB. I'm copying all the files from my 1TB Hard Drive to a 1TB External. When it gets about 80GB Full, it says "Cannot Copy ____ because there is not enough space" or something along those lines. I know that it does have more space. Seeing as how they're both 1TB it shouldn't do this right. I mean, I could understand if one is a 1TB, and the other a 40GB.


    Oh, yeah: They're both Western Digital drives also.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    What are they formatted as? NTFS or Fat32?

    If the destination is Fat, are you trying to copy any files that are larger than 4GB?
     
  3. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #3
    FAT32 is the Destination, NTFS as the non-destination one (couldn't think of a word lol). Yes the files that don't copy are larger than 4GB.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Then you need to format the destination as NTFS.

    After that, you should have no problems.
     
  5. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    :O, I've got like literally 80GB of stuff that I can't backup anywhere else ...except my internal. And then format my External 1TB as NTFS, put everything on there, and then run Win 7 on my internal.

    Sorry that was me thinking, do you think my thoughts would work?
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Sounds like it'll work ...

    Copy the 80GB from External 1TB to Internal, Format External 1TB as NTFS, then move everything you originally wanted, plus the 80GB to the External 1TB? That'll work.
     

Share This Page