Hard drive running out of room question

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by uva25, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. uva25 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #1
    I have an iMac (which keeps my photos and music), a 500gig external drive (which keeps my movies) and a 1TB external drive (which backs up the aforementioned internal/external drive). The movie 500gig drive is running out of space. Itunes is pointed to this drive for movies. I am looking for advice on how to transition to a new drive without duplicating much work. Is it as simple as buying a new 1TB drive, copying movies from 500gig to new drive and then merely deleting movies in Itunes and re-importing them from the new drive? Anything else to consider? Time Capsule? I stream all my movies via Cat 5 ethernet. Thanks.
     
  2. iFizz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Third planet from the star called "Sun"
    #2
    That's how I would do it. Besides, there's nothing wrong with starting up a fresh new clean library in iTunes every now and then. Sounds like an opportunity to spring clean.
     
  3. mallbritton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #3
    It is not necessary to move anything off your existing 500GB drive, or delete anything from the iTunes library. You don't even have to change any iTunes prefs, unless you want to. Simply buy a new drive and start storing stuff on it. You can add items to your iTunes library from the new external by holding down the Apple+Option keys while dragging and dropping.

    Regards,
    Michael
     
  4. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #4
    +1.
     
  5. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #5
    Or just copy all of your media files from the old drive to the new one, then name the new drive exactly the same as the old drive. iTunes should work just fine, so long as the path to the files remains the same.
     
  6. uva25 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #6
    I didn't think of that . Thanks. I have to think if I have enough firewire ports available. I actually have a spare 500 gig drive that I can use.
     
  7. mallbritton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
  8. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    I don't think they even have to be named the same. When I was moving my movies from HD to HD, the .xml file that keeps track of all of them seemed to know exactly where it went. So I didn't have to do anything after I moved them to a larger HD.
     
  9. uva25 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #9
    Will I lose any speed in streaming with a hub? Thanks.
     
  10. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #10
    Make sure it's USB 2.0.

    And as long as iTunes is running if/when you drag files to new locations, it updates its own xml file/database so it knows to where you moved the files.
     
  11. uva25 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #11
    What if I "copy" the files? I'm not sure I ever "moved" files. I usually just drag the file to the new drive and it creates a copy.
     
  12. slapppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #12
    Couldn't you just concatenate the new drive with the existing 500 GB one? So now you have 1.5 TB?

    From Disk Utility Help Guide:

    About concatenated RAID sets
    You can create a single, large volume from several smaller disks by creating a concatenated RAID set, which is also called Just a Bunch of Disks (JBOD) or spanning. The concatenated RAID set acts as one large volume with the combined capacity of all the smaller disks. You can increase the size of a concatenated RAID set after it's been created by dragging more disks to it using Disk Utility.

    A concatenated RAID set is helpful if you have a file, such as a database, that's larger than any of your disks. It’s also useful if you need to create a mirrored or striped RAID set with one large disk and two smaller disks.

    If all the disks in the RAID set are about the same size, consider using a striped RAID set. A striped RAID set lets you access your data quicker.

    Be sure to back up your data frequently. If any one of the drives is damaged, you will lose the data that’s on all the drives.
     
  13. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #13
    If you drag-n-drop with the command key (I think -- check "Help" in Finder and look for "moving files") held down, it "moves" the file.
     
  14. mallbritton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #14
    Nah, speed shouldn't be an issue with that hub. It is a dual FireWire/USB hub that doesn't require an external power supply.

    Regards,
    Michael
     
  15. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #15
    With RAID, if one drive fails, you lose all of your files. With two separate drives, you only lose those on the drive that fails. Too risky, if you ask me.
     
  16. slapppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #16
    True. Hmm so go buy a 2TB drive then for backup. :p
     
  17. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006

Share This Page