Hard Drive setup for Mac Pro 2.8

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by manboy, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. manboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #1
    I have an early 2008 Mac Pro quad core 2.8. It currently has 10 gb of ram and the original 320 gb HDD.

    I'm interested in running OS X and all my applications off a medium sized SSD (120 gb enough?) and keeping everything else on the original hdd and a new added drive (like a 1 TB WD or something).

    I guess my question would be if there is anything about that setup that wouldn't be optimal, and how would I get OS X and my applications to the new SSD?

    Thanks!
     
  2. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #2
    That is actually exactly how i have my 2010 MP setup. I have a 160GB intel 320 SSD (120gb would be enough for my needs however) that i put my programs on, and the 1tb WD black HDD as my "everything else" drive.

    use a cloning program to get your OSX and apps on your new SSD, otherwise you can do a fresh install of OSX and your apps (this is what I did)

    good luck,
     
  3. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    CarbonCopy Cloner is your friend here and it is free.

    Buy your SSD and pop it in slot 2 (you may need a 2.5" to 3.5" adaptor)
    CCC from your main drive to the SSD
    Shut down
    Swap the two drives over
    Restart and you are done.
    You can then erase the old HDD and put anything you like on it.
     
  4. manboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #4
    Alright, well I just ordered the SSD and a backup 1 tb hdd so I'll see what happens on Tuesday!
     
  5. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Diskutils Restore function works as well.

    You will need adapter unless you pull out drive tray and plug the SSD directly into the slot at the bottom and leave it hanging there. One idea if no adapter is to put the SSD in the optical bay under the dvd drive laying it on static bag using a splitter/converter on the spare power cable in it to get the SATA power connection then run cable from one of the spare SATA connectors on the logic board up in back and under the dvd assembly to get the data connection, the ports on the logic board are bootable.

    Edit: My install fits comfortably on a 60gb SSD with over half the space left free.
     

Share This Page