Hard drive setup - int/ext - MacPro 2008

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sbab, May 7, 2013.

1. sbab macrumors member

Have been an interested reader for a while.
    Over the time I've liked some suggestions mentioned here and I searched ebay etc for the parts.
    I've collected a few of these, I've added them to the mac pro as they were talked about and some might be old hat now and definitely not leading edge but it is what I have to work with.

It all started with a spinning beach ball on the screen, I learned to hate it, spinning away taking up my time, I had to get rid of it. Unfortunately I caught the upgrade bug at the same time.

It's not like I use the computer for a living, no big deal stuff at all but I want a computer that jumps when I say so.

I started by installing more ram, it now has 12gb
    A SSD boot drive, it has to be SATAIII
    Hard drives, not 320 or 500gb, lets go 2TB and SATAIII
    But the mac pro is only SATAII, however there is a card you can buy so the 4 internal hard drives are SATAIII, ATTO H644, I got a used one and installed it
    The ATTO card not only has an internal port it also has an external one (mini sas), what could I use that for, how about another 4 SATAIII discs.
    So I had 10.6.8 on the internal boot disc, how about I put 10.8.2 on the external drive, using a SSD SATAIII.
    Whilst I'm at it fill the ext box with hard drives 2TB and SATAIII.
    The ext case holds 4 HD's and has only a mini sas connection on the back panel.
    It eventually came to this and it all works, I don't know how fast it is SATAIII or not but I don't have too many beach balls!

I also installed a new/used graphics card an apple HD5770 powering two used 27" apple cinema displays.
    I also bought a used pair of 3.2 cpu, not installed yet, maybe never.
    Thats my holiday money gone, so instead of a holiday I'll work/play with the computer...sad case!
    Please don't mention raid I got burnt many years ago.