hard drive swap 13" mbp

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by chrislaw, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. chrislaw macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #1
    Ok, so I'm on the verge of getting this umb sold and am purchasing a 13" mbp soon. I know that i want to get the 500gb scorpio blue and 4gb of ram.

    I'm tired of looking through the posts via search b/c the majority of the ones just ask advice on which hdd to get.

    I've seen thread stating that the hdd isn't recognized once installed. Is this only for the ones that had os x installed previously? That's the impression that i get.

    So when I get the new mbp, and install the new hdd and ram before even turning it on. install os x... it should be recognized right?

    I know to use the torx 6 and the phillips #00.. that the screws are different lengths...

    any other tips that aren't in the manual. Am I forgetting to do something?

    sorry if this particular thing has been asked but I'm tired of searching :p
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    There were apparently a few isolated problems reported by some regarding the Firmware update and new HDs

    I wouldn't be too concerned
    Many have updated to the Scorpio Blue without issue
    It should not be a problem for you

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. asaj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #3
    I just got my first Mac last week (typing on it now, and loving it), and did the same thing you are doing, except I used a 500gb Hitachi. The hardest thing about it was getting the screws out and then putting them back in without stripping them. I bought a 00 prescision screwdriver from Sears, but apparently it wasn't precision enough, because it didn't fit the screws. I had a standard philips head screwdriver that did fit though. My advice is to just go slow. Replacing the hdd and ram was simple, and then I just turned it on with the OSX CD in the drive, formatted, and installed. No issues. It does take a while though, so get ready to do a lot of waiting.

    Good luck.
     
  4. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #4
    thanks! you put the cd in the drive before turning it on? the drives functions when the machine is off?
     
  5. asaj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #5
    No, I put it in as soon as I turned it on. The first time, I just had the Apple and the spinning wheel thing for a looooong time. I eventually turned it off by holding the power button down, and then fired it back up, and it seemed to get to the menu faster. I am not sure what happened, but it worked fine from that point. The first thing it does is validate the install disk, which takes about an hour and 15 minutes, so it may have been doing that in the background, I am not sure, but it worked fine the second time through.
     
  6. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #6
    I just did this very install on my new 13" mbp. Same hard drive you have. I decided to just take the hd out of it's package and install it in the mbp without seeing if the drive worked or not.

    1. Install the drive following the directions. Just be careful with the case screws 3 of them are long, the rest of them are short. Remember where they go. The hd installation was easy.

    2. Plug it in, turn it on... insert the leopard install disk... wait... follow directions.

    3. This was the gotcha... It doesn't see the disk. But no problem. The install disk has disk utility on it. Start disk utility and partition and name the drive. Now when you start the install again it will find your drive. Select the drive and follow the instructions on the osx install. The 13" is a really nice machine. I've been using it now for a week and I really like it.
     
  7. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #7
    We've got brand new machines with brand new osx install disks. The validation does take a long time but if you think your disk is good... you have the option of skipping the validation process and proceeding to the install. I let the validation run for 10 minutes and then hit the skip button. All went well. I have a lot of faith in brand new shiny dvd install disks.

    I got a very nice set of both torx and small phillips and flat head screwdrivers from Lowes. Just look at their website and search for torx. Each handle cost 5 dollars and the handles each have 8 screwdrivers in them. T000, T00, T0... and on up.
     
  8. will0407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #8
    I did exactly what you are wanting to do (see sig).
    I took the 160GB HD out and the 2GB Ram, and then put the 4GB and 500GB HD in. When you boot, hold c to boot from the install disc, then use disk utlity to format the hard drive, then you're good to go.
     
  9. asaj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #9
    I wish i had noticed the skip button, but i just let it go. Oh well, alls well that ends well.

    I will check out the screwdrivers at lowes, i figured the crafstman ones woulf be good, but apparently not. Hopefully i do not have to take the laptop apart again anytime soon though. definitely loving the Mac, it's our first one, and I really like it.
     
  10. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #10
    Lowes torx and screwdriver pointer

    They are made by kobalt, 5.98 each (8 different heads per handle).

    Here is the pointer to the page:

    http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?acti...product_price|0&N=4294961544&sortOp=lowToHigh

    Items 239384 and 239400... they are very well made and have the torx T6 and the philips T00 that we need to swap the HD among some other small drivers.
     
  11. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #11
    I was worried about the Firmware upgrade when I ordered a Seagate 500gb 7200rpm drive. I installed it last Friday and no problems as of yet.
     
  12. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #12
    Sweet guys! Thanks for all the help. The tools help a bunch. I think I have the old one sold but now I have to wipe it out in a hurry. Hopefully I don't run into any problems! I think it should be sold tonight! Any tips for when I clear out my umb to make it go quick and easy?
     
  13. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #13
    You've probably already wiped your old umb but I was thinking that all you need to do is take it's osx install disk, put it in the old umb and do an erase and install. That way your stuff is wiped off the disk but the machine will still boot.
     
  14. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #14
    yep, installing the apps disk now.

    Thanks :D
     
  15. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #15
    got the mbp today, waiting on the new egg order...

    isn't there a way to not load all of the languages when i install the OS on the new HDD?
     
  16. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #16

    sorry if this is a dumb question, but how do i get to the disk utility? will it be an option to just click?

    I haven't done it yet... just trying to get all the info possible before starting.

    Thanks
     
  17. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    The Disk Utility will show up after the Installer Boots, on the top menu bar you will see the option to launch it.
     
  18. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #18
    nice, thanks.

    hey have you guys that mentioned that you did the same set up as me had any problems with the 1.7 firmware yet?
     
  19. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #19
    ok guys, great advice! I received the stuff from newegg about 45 minutes ago and its all in. Now i turned on the computer, inserted the disc...now i have the spinning wheel... what is the skip option?

    edit: oh, well... nevermind. It was on the wheel for about 5 minutes and now its asking me for the language.
     
  20. chrislaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #20
    got it all done. Thanks again for all the help everyone. It proved very useful, I even purchased the ame tools from Lowes... worked like a charm!
     

Share This Page