Hard Drive Total Capacity Missing

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Badbaw, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. Badbaw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #1
    Not sure where to post this, but I have Macbook so I'll leave it here.

    It was awhile back when I purchased a larger 500 GB hard drive (Western Digital I believe) to replace the smaller capacity HDD. To boot I did notice the HDD had a 500 GB total capacity, but later on I did a fresh install and it reduced it to 465 GB.

    Why would this happen? Could it have something to do with the erase security option I chose (Zero Out Data)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bizzle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #2
    If you are running 10.5 or lower hard drive space is calculated with base 2 and hard drive manufacturers use base 10. 10.6 and higher also use base 10.
     
  3. Badbaw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #3
    What does that mean? I've gone back and forth between 10.6 and 10.5.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
  5. Badbaw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #5
    Got it! But still...

    When I first replaced the old HDD for the 500 GB, I was on 10.6, then I downgraded to 10.5 and the total capacity dropped to 465 GB. I upgraded to 10.6 again (don't ask!), but the same value remained, I am almost certain. I am in 10.5 currently.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  7. Badbaw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #7
    In 10.5... Total Capacity: 465.8 GB (500,107,862,016 Bytes)

    I can't remember exactly what it was in 10.6, but I am almost positive it was a higher value, maybe around 480 GB.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    The value for 10.5 is correct. Maybe next time you update to 10.6 again you can tell us.
     
  9. Badbaw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #9
    Are you in 10.6? If so, what does yours read as?
     
  10. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #10
    In 10.6, my 500GB internal drive showed up as 500GB (before I forced it show base 2 values, base 10 is a con).
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    As I am too lazy to search right now, is that hack system wide?
     
  12. Badbaw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #12
    Chances are I also removed the Boot Camp partition unsoundly, I've seen people complaining about such. But because the 465 GB is true to the base 2 value of a 500 GB HDD, I can't help but think it's just that.

    All I care about is ensuring that this somehow won't occur again, when I purchase a new Mac and do a custom install right from the bat, and erase the HDD.
     
  13. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #13
    It works in Finder, but not other apps (eg DaisyDisk). I literally just googled "change finder to base 2" or something like that.

    Not necessarily 'unsoundly', but when you remove the bootcamp partition you're just left with an unpartitioned space where it was, you need to 'grow' the HFS+ partition to fill the space.
    Anyone complaining about it such should understand how it all works.
     
  14. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #14
    500,000,000,000 bytes = 500GB

    500,000,000,000 bytes = 465GiB

    10.5 and lower report GiB as GB. 10.6 uses the correct terminology.

    HDD manufacturers have always used the correct terminology, if the drive said 160GB you got 160,000,000,000 bytes.
     

Share This Page