Hard Drives for RAID 10 on a Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iBeard, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. iBeard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #1
    I'm going to buy 4x500GB Hard Drives to set up a RAID 10 on my new mac pro. I think I'm either going with the Seagate 7200.10s or the Hitachi T7K500s, but I can't decide which one to go with. I've heard that the Hitachis are better overall drives, but the Seagates do have the longer warranty....

    Any advice?

    Thanks.
     
  2. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #2
    I'd wait and then compare to the 7200.11 500GB drives, as theyre due soon
     
  3. BlackDan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    I'd normally ask: why RAID 10? But then I'm always reminded about the lack of RAID 5, even on OSX server... sucks huh?

    Apple please - pretty please - fix this :eek:

    edit: I mean of course software RAID 5, I know you can have it on the XRAID's ...
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I expected a 3rd party hardware RAID expansion card for the Xserve Xeon by now, but alas...
     
  5. BlackDan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    I share your pain...
    Only thing you can do is get the fibre-card and a raid-array... pretty expensive.

    I have a X-serve G5 at work and really don't need all the storage on the Xserve (I have other arrays for that, 10+TB in total actually), but it's just silly that I have 3 drives in the machine and the best I can get is RAID 1 (=stupid, what do I do with the 3rd drive?), 0 (=fast, but increased risk of failure, not very smart in a live production environment) or JBOD (=useless) ...

    :mad:
     
  6. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    You can get a PCI-X hardware RAID card for the Xserve G5! So you can setup the 3 internal drives as a real RAID 5 config.
    That is one reason why the Xserve G5 is so gr8. :)

    Edit: Take a look at the specs found here.

    I tried looking for it on the Store, but it seems you can't get it from there, I'm afraid.

    I just wish this option was made available for the Xserve Xeon... :(
     
  7. BlackDan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    yeah, I just want to avoid spending more money on a machine that I'm trying to migrate away from...
     
  8. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #8
    Oh crap, and I just got 7200.10 drives thinking they are "new".

    Where do you get such information from? harddriverumors.com?
     
  9. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #9
    engadget, overclocking (forums.overclockers.co.uk) forums
     
  10. alfogator macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    Florence, Italy
    #10
    Leopard should include zfs which has software raid: both mirroring (RAID 1 equiv), single parity (RAID 5 equiv) and double parity (RAID 6 equiv). So there's hope :)
     
  11. BlackDan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #11
    yeah, if it makes it into the final Leopard Server version, I'm not sure if that's the case.
     

Share This Page