Hard Drives in New 15" MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cujoca, Jun 8, 2009.

1. cujoca macrumors regular

Hey everyone!

I definitely think that wait was worth it and now i'm eagerly ready to buy a new 15" MBP. I have a few questions though. I'm looking at the 500GB hard drive but i can't decide between the 5400 or 7200 RPM. I would go with the 7200 RPM HD but i would be concerned about decreased battery life and external / internal noise... What are your thoughts on this?

P.S. I've narrowed it down to the 15" 2.66 MBP unless anyone can persuade me to the 2.8 with 512 VRAM...

Thanks in advance!

2. friareunuch macrumors member

i'd buy an 80gb intel x25-m for a boot/app drive, then a FW800 external for media/other big files. i'm no expert, but i'm under the impression that 7200 is louder and that it hurts battery life quite a bit.

would love to hear otherwise ... anyone?

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Definitely a SSD drive if you can afford one + 1TB external FireWire 800 drive for storage.

4. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

If you got extra money laying around get ssd it is the best money can buy :D

5. cujoca thread starter macrumors regular

SSD is out of the question so i have to choose between the 500 GB 5400 or 500 GB 7200

6. cujoca thread starter macrumors regular

basically i'm wondering if 7200 RPM is a good idea or will there be repercussions for getting something so fast

7. visitronix macrumors newbie

I would get the stock MBP and upgrade the HD to a WD Scorpio Blue 500GB for about $90. I did this to my black MacBook and have not seen any significant change in battery life. IMO the speed is comparable to a 7200 drive. I also recorded multiple simultaneous streams of audio (10 so far) and edited HD video without a problem.
    Also, you can get an external firewire case and use put your original drive in it and still use it.

Just my 2 cents.

Kiko

8. eVolcre macrumors 65816

eVolcre