Harddrive troubles

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Amigaz, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. Amigaz macrumors newbie

    Amigaz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #1
    Having some serious harddrive upgrade issues on my new Mac Mini late 2012 model.
    I've tried two SSD's in it, one Crucial M500 240gig and one Plextor M5S 256gig.
    When install the OS (Mavericks) I get install errors which results in that I cannot complete the OS install so I install the OS from my Macbook by hooking up the disk to an USB dock and then install the disk in the Mini but the I get unfrequent app and OS crashes.
    I have an almost new Western Digital Mobile Black 7200rpm drive (750gb) i installed instead which I installed instead which seem to work fine but recently I've had app crashes and OS crashes again.
    I've had the same problem with my Macbook Pro mid 2012 whicH I've tried the same drives in and a hybrid drive in (Seagate Momentus XT)

    I'm starting to wonder that this generation of Mac's have some bugs or timing issues in the SATA controller chip? any ideas folks? or is it a very hit and miss when it comes to choosing the right SSD for these Mac's?

    btw. I'm using a Sandisk SSD in my Mid 2009 Macbook and it runs flawlessly
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    I've run a Crucial SSD as a boot disk in my late 2012 mini for some time now, it has run both 10.8 and now 10.9 both without a hiccup.
    Sorry this does not help your problem, but I wanted you to know that SSD's should not present the problems you are experiencing.
     
  3. Amigaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Amigaz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #3
    ahh..ok
    Can you remember which model it is?

    I'm going to try my luck next with a Samsung 840 Evo

    I've really tried hard to find if anyone else have had issues with these harddrives and Mac models but came up empty :-(
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #4
    Just wondering...

    Does the OP's Mini have the factory-installed RAM, or have you changed it out for something else?
     
  5. Amigaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Amigaz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #5
    No, come to think if it I'm using the non apple branded (Corsair) 2x4 gig sticks I used in my Macbook Pro
    If I'm not mistaked the RAM is involved in the I/O to the harddrive?
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    This one!
     
  7. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #7
    Bad RAM will give you errors on OS installation. If you have an external USB DVD Drive, get the memtest ISO, burn a disk and memtest the RAM.
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    [[ No, come to think if it I'm using the non apple branded (Corsair) 2x4 gig sticks I used in my Macbook Pro ]]

    Put the factory-installed RAM back into the Mini and run it that way for five days.

    Any better?

    Incompatible RAM will absolutely cause problems such as those you have been experiencing.

    If you want more RAM that's know to be compatible, I recommend this source (no financial interest):
    http://www.datamemorysystems.com/ap...6ghz-md388ll/a-cto-late-2012-memory-upgrades/
     
  9. Amigaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Amigaz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #9
    It's Corsair Vengeance RAM I'm starting to suspect is not 100% compatible with these Mac's
    Gooing to give memtest86 a go
    I've already ordered some "standard" Corsair RAM
    Saw that the Vengeance RAM is 1.5volt and the RAM that came with the MBP and Mac Mini was 1.35 so the Vengeance RAM might be underpowered
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    [[ Gooing to give memtest86 a go ]]

    Again -- stop fooling with RAM that is suspect.

    Put the KNOWN GOOD (factory) RAM back in, and see if things change for the better.

    I sense that you will see an IMMEDIATE improvement in operations...
     

Share This Page