Hardware specs and random "virus" question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dsprimal, May 7, 2010.

1. dsprimal macrumors 6502a

dsprimal

Hello all, ive been a long time lurker, and a 1st time mac buyer of a new macbook pro core i7 =] i love this site with all the advise and information i get from it! (im new to the surfing engine on the site and i couldn't find exactly what i needed information on...at least for these 2 questions below)

Hardware question:
    I have been to the apple logo on the top left and looked at "about this mac" etc. I have also found out where to see how much HD space i have left on my 500gb hd. But the specific question i have is, is there any way i can see detailed specs of the hard drive? i bought a 7200rpm hd and i want to make sure it is indeed a 7200 and not lets say a 5400 by mistake. (kinda paranoid since i cant seem to find "7200rpm" listed anywhere on this mbp.

Virus question:
    I downloaded a folder of hi res wallpapers, and i later deleted them because they weren't what i was looking for.....as i tried to put the folder into the trash bin i got a message saying "cannot delete this folder because so and so .jpg is being used." so i 4 finger swipped down to see everything opened and that specific picture wasn't open.

But soon after, i gave it another try and the trash can was able to be emptied.

To be more specific, this is whats making me feel uneasy. I looked at my hard drive space availability and it keeps fluctuating, going up and down. before i downloaded the pictures, i had 16.87gb used, but after downloaded then deleted the pictures, i now have 16.89gb.....and at a random time i saw it go up to 17.2gb then it went back down to 16.89gb and stayed there....but never went fully down to 16.87gb again.