Hardwired LAN slow on 10.10.1 - not usable

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by mtbdudex, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #1
    Immediately upon upgrading to 10.10.1 I noticed my Hardwired LAN (cat5e) performance took a huge performance hit, so much it's not usable.

    I've not seen reports of this, and under 10.10 base I had no problems with LAN speed.

    I have multiple Aperture Libraries, these are "big" in size 30GB to close to 300GB.

    I have a 6TB NAS (WD MyCloud EX2) and a 2TB via USB on the Airport Extreme. Both used to work no problem but now so slow

    What took 3-4 hours to copy a 250GB file is now days....not acceptable, I even started the copy overnight and next morning still chugging away, pictures show what I mean
    [​IMG]

    When I take that exact same 2TB drive, un-plug it from the Airport Extreme and directly plug it to the iMac it transfers files as expected, 3-4 hours for 250GB file.
    snapshots shows the transfer speed progression from initial start to a few minute after
    [​IMG]

    fwiw - yea some cable clutter, my loft with 27" imac and stuff
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Ray2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #2
    Same thing happened to me with the initial release. Took a day or 2 to come back on its own. Hopefully the same will happen to you.

    I had several instances like this, a general slow down, they all cleared themselves up within a day or 2. Not Spotlight as I shut it down for upgrades.
     
  3. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #3
    I've done 2 restarts, checked WD for latest firmware, etc.
    My hardwire LAN performance is still not acceptable.

    Seems nobody else here has this issue, I'll make a post at apple support.
     
  4. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #4
    wow. dude. no wonder something aint working on that desk /s
     
  5. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
  6. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #6
    Hi;

    I was on the phone with WD customer support just now for about 25 mintues.

    We did the following:

    a) confirmed I am on the latest firmware - 1.05.21

    b) did a reset in the back with a paper clip; tried copying files took as long

    c) did a System restore under settings>utilities>system restore; tried copying files took as long

    We then tried a few things:

    a) 50MB single file , almost immediately copy

    b) a iDVD file 5GB in size, this took approx 2 minutes

    c) a Aperture file 5GB in size, this has 789 photos and video clips inside it.....the copy process started then got "stuck" around 24.7MB, the time went to 2 hours to copy, then 3 hours to copy, while not going past 24.7MB, then 4 hours to copy...we stopped it after it went to 6 hours to copy at 25 MB of 5.19 GB

    d) tried my iTunes library, which is 72.51GB with 10,584 items (in iTunes it shows 5, 318 songs 30.25GB + a few podcasts and 5 home made DVD's done in iDVD, 99.5% is songs + artwork of course). It started the copy process almost immediately at 8 hours 70MB of 72.5GB for 10, 233 items, I could see the items count going down at the copy progressed. It then settled on about 9 hours when I stopped it at copying 9, 510 items (351 MB of 72.5GB)


    So, it's not strictly the file size but seems the accounting of so many individual files during the copy/move process....at least that's my guess.

    He was going to Level 2 support and get back with me later.

    I'll keep updating here for fact based data.
     
  7. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #7
    Those are just USB wires from a 7 port expander for my kids "stuff", absolutely nothing to do with this issue.

    If you have any value added ideas/thoughts I do appreciate that feedback.

    I can assure you it's not the wiring....as I planned, designed, did plumbing, HVAC, framing, high voltage electrical, low voltage wiring (cat5e, speaker wires), drywall, tile work for bathroom, etc for my complete basement.

    Wiring is basic stuff......
    Complete basement Plan
    [​IMG]
    Wiring schematic
    [​IMG]

    work in progress
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    HT final look ... 11.3 set-up with appropriate engineered acoustical treatments
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    ----------

    As more data points I took a single 2.1GB file (a iDVD file) and both uploaded it to the EX2 NAS and downloaded it from the EX2 NAS

    Some image to share:

    Upload from iMac to EX2 NAS
    [​IMG]

    Download from EX2 NAS to iMac is quite fast
    [​IMG]

    Device activity screen for that single 2.1GB upload/download file
    [​IMG]

    Later I will duplicate the 5GB Aperture file to see the network performance graph for that, though I will probably have to cancel it because once it goes to hours for a 5GB file that kills using the iMac for other purposes
     
  8. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #8
    I specifically put /s there
    Awesome basement and awesome setup! :)
     
  9. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #9
    Got it, been busy, I'm still working directly with WD tech support on this issue, not solved yet as of Dec-11, today.

    Peace,
    Mike
     
  10. Flat Six, Dec 11, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014

    Flat Six macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #10
    I have the same problem. But my hard wired LAN was a Devolo ethernet over electricity lines (poweradapters). Tried to copy a 100 gigabyte Aperture file from my iMac to Mac Mini. This used to work quite well, but after upgrading to Yosemite I couldn't use it anymore. I ended up using a spare harddrive to move the files from one to the other computer.
    As of now, I wouldn't know what it will do because I removed the Devolo poweradapters. Going back to wifi. I'll test if that work or not.

    Edit: Nope, wifi is not an option. I think I will use the spare harddrive again. It's a bit of a hassle, but it works.
     
  11. Mr. Buzzcut macrumors 65816

    Mr. Buzzcut

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    OP, do you have inconsistent network settings such as jumbo frames on some devices and not others? Is something negotiating the wrong speed and duplex? It could be an OS X issue, though I've not experienced it, but it could also be as simple as a cable went bad at the same time you upgraded. Do you have another system you can use to test copy in place of the Yosemite machine?
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    What protocol are you using to connect to the NAS?
    Given that one single file copies fine and the smaller files don't, I'd suspect it's not the network configuration.
    If you're using SMB to connect, try using SMB1 by connecting with cifs://YOUR_NAS_HERE rather than the default of smb://YOUR_NAS_HERE or afp://YOUR_NAS_HERE.
     

Share This Page