Harman Kardon Subwoofer & B&W MM1 Dual

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mattkidd, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. mattkidd, Jan 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012

    mattkidd macrumors regular

    mattkidd

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom England Northants
    #1
    Hey!

    Currently got a pair of Harman Kardon Soundstick III speakers hooked up to my iMac via the 3.5 audio jack. Speakers are fantastic, although i feel i need even more power!

    Ive been looking at the Bowers & Wilkins MM-1 Speakers, which pack 35w each little more than the Harman's are delivering, however as people say the subwoofer on the harman cannot be matched and the MM1 doesn't feature one.

    Is it at all possible to continue using the Harman subwoofer alongside the MM1? The MM1 will go through USB opposed to the 3.5 and the harman subwoofer would use the 3.5? Is it possible to dual audio within OSX? ;)
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    This is an interesting one. My setup is different but my gut instinct say's there should be a way to use the sub. I have a 7.1 DTS system but the network deals with that.

    Connected to my iMac ( Or via my mixing board and then to the iMac ) are a set of Genelex Monitors.....These are self powered units and a lot more expensive and the BW range is superb.

    Problem in connectivity seems to me that you may get a "Lag" effect sort of like the digital delay between analogue and DAB broadcast.

    I'm wondering if you might be able to use a network streaming option using an optical cable setup.

    What kind of wifi setup do you have?
     
  3. mattkidd thread starter macrumors regular

    mattkidd

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom England Northants
    #3
    Hmm that sounds as though it could be an option, you don't have the horrid drop in quality though would you? Had some Senheiser wireless headphones... crap.

    But yes i didn't think about that of course analogue and digital... hmmm might put a different perspective on things then, I'm currently just using an Airport Express which feeds off a standard router within the house over ethernet. All my lovely Apple products then connect too it.

    What do you use? and are there any other speakers opposed to the MM1's you would suggest ;) oh and they have to look the part! :eek:
     
  4. wywern209 macrumors 65832

    wywern209

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    do you rly want to know?
    #4
    i would get an amp and a pair of speakers. much better SQ and if you want loud, just get a stronger amp. also, the difference in volume might not be much from the SSIII to the mm1 because it takes twice the power to make it 3db louder. not much of an increase in volume.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    No, that's where the jiggery poker comes in....It's not actually wireless...Deep breath...

    My modem is a stand alone fibre optic unit connected to a Gigabit Router (Draytek)

    Connected to the Draytek are...An ATV2 unit and obviously the modem.

    From the ATV unit the optical cable is connected to the DTS system

    When streaming from the iMac, it's hardwired...I just choose the ATV as my streaming device, and no lag at all.

    Connected to the Draytek is a Three TB Time capsule ( I said it was complicated ) And connected to that is the Draytek my smart TV and a smart HDD recorder.

    That's the DTS side of things.

    My mixing board lives mostly on my iMac connected (this is where I think your option may lie) via another Toslinkl optical cable outputting to the Genelex.

    Sheesh:)...Maybe I should draw a diagram...

    Depending on what you have network wise it should be do able!
     

Share This Page