Has anyone been able to mod Atomic Web Browser's icon?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by ngenerator, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #1
    I've found the Atomic Browser folder in my WinSCP, however whenever I swap the icon.png file and respring, nothing changes :( Does anyone know which png I have to swap to make my Atomic less stupid looking?
     
  2. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    That's how it's usually done on the iPhone... Are there any other icons in the folder that it may be using? You can try those or try to reboot. Sometimes Springboard needs to clear it's cache.
     
  3. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #3
    Just tried a reboot, still nothing :( The weirdest thing, too. On my stupid Dell it's a trial and error type situation, since I can't just pull all the pngs out of the folder and view w/ MS photo manager, it just gives me black icons. No images at all :(
     
  4. atr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    #4
    The icon names are changed on the iPad. Instead of Icon.png they are now Icon-iPad.png.
     
  5. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #5
    Crap, there wasn't a png in the Atomic.app that was titled that...
     
  6. Rengoku macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #6
    The icon png file you need to change is Atomic72px.png

    Make sure the png you're replacing it with is also 72px.
     
  7. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #7
    Damn, I could have sworn that's one of the pngs I tried to swap and it didn't work yesterday. But it worked fine today, lol. Thanks for the help!
     
  8. CakeOrDeath macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #8
    The easiest way to change an icon is to copy the one you like over to the app folder, then change the name of the icon in the info.plist file with iFile to look like this


    <key>CFBundleIconFiles</key>
    <array>
    <string>Icon-iPad.png</string>
    <string>Icon-iPad.png</string>
    </array>

    Then respring and the icon will update

    Icon-iPad.png obviously needs to match the filename you have copied over. I use the default Safari icon for my icon.

    Simple as that
     
  9. Rengoku macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #9
    Sometimes respring or restart doesn't clear the cache, so you have to ssh into the cache directory:

    /private/var/mobile/Library/Caches/com.apple.IconsCache

    and delete the icon cache file there.
     
  10. dmegatool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008

Share This Page