Has Anyone Bought from V.A.R. Vendor Resale Warehouse?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Val-kyrie, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. Val-kyrie macrumors 68000

    Feb 13, 2005
    I saw a link to V.A.R. Vendor Resale Warehouse in a listing on a Craig's List, so I tried to check it out through the BBB and WhoIs but got nowhere (I'm not sure if I used WhoIs correctly). I also contacted Craig's List after a Google search turned up mostly other listings on Craig's List.

    Anyone else have ideas on how to find out if this site is legit? The biggest red flag for me is the extremely low price on the new, late 2008 MBP ($1495), but I was hoping it was legit because they list the early 2008 MBP with AppleCare for $1175. But it probably is too good to be true.

  2. Music_Producer macrumors 68000

    Sep 25, 2004
  3. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Oct 28, 2007
    Things to be wary of:

    1) The URL of the store is varresale.web.officelive.com instead of something.com/something.net. Domain names cost as little as $8.99 per year. Why don't they have one?

    2) Their website contains content similar to others:

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/HelpCenter/ReturnExchange.jsp vs. http://varresale.web.officelive.com/PrivacySecurity.aspx

    3) Payments via Paypal or Alertpay. Why no Paypal, Google Checkout, or direct merchant account? These other services do not directly mean a "scam", but if you're doing business then it is often best to use payment providers that people will instantly recognize or that they already have an account with.

    4) Price is very low. Why is it so low when you could clearly get more for it on a website like eBay?

Share This Page