Has anyone downgraded new i5 MBP to Leopard

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hari-bhari, May 27, 2010.

  1. hari-bhari macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    Tried to pop in and old Leopard install DVD and it just hung on the gray screen at boot. Has anyone been able to successfully downgrade? I've seen posts saying its not possible due to the laptop being newer than the OS, and other posts stating people have downgraded to 10.5.7. If this does, in fact, work, where can I get this version of the OS?
     
  2. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #2
    Why do you need it? It will most likely not work.
     
  3. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    the closest possibility you have of this working would be to boot the the MBP in target disk mode and connect to an older "Leopard-era" mac (or, you may have to remove the drive completely and physically install it on that older mac), and then install Leopard on that drive. Then, boot the drive on the i7, pray that you get al the way to the desktop, and run Software Update to see what happens.

    I have my doubts it will work at all though.

    Just curious: why would you do this?
     
  4. hari-bhari thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #4
    i hate the expose and preview apps in snow leopard. this was much discussed (especially expose) when SL was launched, but has since been forgotten.
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Have you installed the most recent updates? Since 10.6.3 expose has been a lot nicer to use.
     
  6. hari-bhari thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #6
    what? as far as i can tell there have been no changes in how expose displays your items. it still shows minimized items at the bottom, and still makes everything the same size (stickies, safari windows, etc). the old one used to scale items according to their original size and did not show minimized items.
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I see. As you didn't explain what you didn't like I made assumptions that it was because of the choppy usage.
     
  8. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #8
    Yeah you're not gonna be able to get around it, suggest getting used to it or returning it. Although your reasons are pretty negligible..
     
  9. Demthios macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #9
    Any word on if this is possible? My college is trying to downgrade there new MBP they are selling us this fall to Leopard but was just wondering if this has been done yet.
     
  10. Ramphex macrumors 6502

    Ramphex

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    USA/PA
    #10
    Suck it up and learn how to live with it, best advise I can give you man. Write a complain/suggestion to Apple, maybe they'll do something about it in the next release.
     
  11. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #11
    Your college is retarded.
     
  12. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #12
    That's not possible, as long as I know, Leopard doesn't have support for i5/i7 chips...
     
  13. MindlessJD macrumors member

    MindlessJD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #13
    I think that the lowest OS that Macs support is the version that they ship with only, I might be wrong on that though...
     
  14. bigjobby macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    Has anyone downgraded new i5 MBP to Leopard

    Logic and common sense says you might well run into driver problems.

    Don't understand why you want to take one step forward with a new unit and then taking 1 or 2 steps back with the OS over Exposé. Most bizarre!:confused:
     
  15. Demthios macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #15
    I don't plan on leaving it at Leopard and yes at times they can be very retarded! So more then likely there image will fail on the i7's? Thats good news just hope they don't take to long to figure that out! LOL
     
  16. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #16
    Typically the oldest OS one can install on a machine is the one that it shipped with. You might be able to get around that with a bit of cleverness, but then the OS won't work properly.
     
  17. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #17
    It will kernel panic for sure even if you try cloning a workable install.
     
  18. flat4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #18
    What kind of dvd are you using? a restore dvd or retail?
     
  19. moel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #19
    Yeah what your trying to do will not work.

    and the reasons for doing it are as said, a bit petty and stupid.

    Learn to love them i much prefer it to 10.5, and I thought the SL stuff was bloody annoying when i first used it (quicktime player etc)
     

Share This Page