Has anyone ever used a Seagate Hybrid SSD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cookieronster, Sep 5, 2010.

1. cookieronster macrumors member

Hey guys, first of all I would like to say that I am new to macrumors but not new to macs. I'm currently using a 15" MacBook Pro i7 with HR-AG. I have owned a 15" uMBP 2.8ghz (mid-2009), a 13" uMB 2.0ghz (late-2008) and a 13" Blackbook (late 2006).

i know it's alot of macs in a small timeframe but i love macs and always want to upgrade...which brings me to my next question..

Has anyone tried the Seagate Hybrid XT SSD, 7200RPM?

I want the performance of an ssd but not the high price tag. If someone is running this drive, I would like to hear about your experience with it.

I don't use my computer for editing, just browsing, notes and e-mail. However i am very curious about boot times. I love how fast an ssd boots up, and since i don't run any data intensive apps at all, i think a hybrid drive may be all that I need.

2. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

yetanotherdave

I haven't used one, but am also interested in it, for reasons similar to yours.

It wont have the boot time of a SSD, because it caches the data from the disk to the SSD, it still has to read it first, so a cold boot will be from the regular disk.

However, once an app is open, it should respond faster as it should be cached on the SSD, basically as I understand it, you'll get the app "snappiness" of an SSD once it is loaded, but not the load time. But you DO get the drive capacity of a regular disk.

3. cookieronster thread starter macrumors member

oh my mistake, i didn't know that's how they functioned...well It may still be worth it. I still have the stock 5400 rpm drive so i'm sure that i'll feel the effect from the 7200 as well. The thing is that the only third party apps i have on here are office 2008 and vlc player lol.

4. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

Why not take out the ODD and swap in an SSD and use that as boot drive (also swap the HDD with a WD 1TB